Hear Dolly Parton's Understated 'Pure & Simple' - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Hear Dolly Parton’s Understated ‘Pure & Simple’

New release leads off stripped-down collection of songs due in August

The title track and lead single from Dolly Parton’s forthcoming album Pure & Simple now has a lyric video available for streaming. The album, a joint venture between Dolly Records and Sony Music Nashville, will be available August 19th.

Musically, “Pure & Simple” lives up to its name: the uncluttered production gets its shine from tasteful washes of mandolin, pedal steel and strums of acoustic guitar. Parton sings the praises of a once-in-a-lifetime love in a pillow-soft coo, equating love with spiritual connection. “It’s so pure it’s almost sacred / Simply put, it feels divine.”

Originally billed as a two CD package that would include a bonus disc called Dolly’s Biggest Hits, Parton’s latest collection is largely comprised of new original songs inspired by the stripped down format of a few successful one-off live performances she has given in the last couple years. Pure & Simple also includes a pair of older songs with the new offerings, including “Tomorrow Is Forever” — formerly a duet from her days with Porter Wagoner.

“That’s a song I always loved and I just did it as a solo,” says Parton. “And I did a song that was actually in the Coat of Many Colors movie: ‘Say Forever You’ll Be Mine.’ It was also from the Porter/Dolly days. Those two I took and revamped and revised and redid them in a simpler way. The rest of them are new things that I’ve just written.”

Parton is currently headlining the Pure & Simple tour, which hits Cedar Rapids, Iowa and Hinckley, Minnesota this weekend. NBC is also planning the sequel to the highly-rated, Parton-inspired Coat of Many Colors television movie, titled Dolly Parton’s Christmas of Many Colors: Circle of Love and due at the end of 2016.

  1. Pure and Simple
  2. Say Forever You’ll Be Mine
  3. Never Not Love You
  4. Kiss It (And Make It All Better)
  5. Can’t Be That Wrong
  6. Outside Your Door
  7. Tomorrow Is Forever
  8. I’m Sixteen
  9. Head Over High Heels
  10. Forever Love

In This Article: Dolly Parton


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.