Erin Andrews, J.J. Watt to Co-Host 2016 CMT Music Awards - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Erin Andrews, J.J. Watt to Co-Host 2016 CMT Music Awards

Cam and Fifth Harmony join the performance lineup for a special mashup of hits

J.J. Watt, Erin AndrewsJ.J. Watt, Erin Andrews

Erin Andrews, who hosted the 2015 CMT Awards, will be joined by NFL all-star J.J. Watt to co-host the 2016 edition.

Christopher Polk/Getty Images

Co-hosts for the upcoming CMT Music Awards have been announced, with a veteran at the helm and a rookie taking the field for the first time. Returning from 2015 is FOX Sports broadcaster and Dancing With the Stars host Erin Andrews, who will appear alongside NFL superstar J.J. Watt for the June 8th broadcast from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena. 

“I’m thrilled to come back to Nashville to co-host the CMT Music Awards,” Andrews says in a press statement. “I had so much fun last year, and I can’t wait to see what antics J.J. and I will get into together.” Watt, whose five-year career with the Houston Texans includes three NFL Defensive Player of the Year awards (2012, 2014 and 2015), was on hand as a presenter during 2015’s CMT Music Awards.

Performers added to the show include Cam, who will appear with pop group Fifth Harmony to deliver a mash-up of her own “Mayday” with the group’s Number One hit “Work from Home.” Presenters will include actors Vince Vaughn and Rob Riggle, NASCAR driver Danica Patrick, Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley, Cole Swindell, Dan + Shay and Kellie Pickler, along with Joey Lauren Adams and Madison Iseman from the upcoming CMT series Still the King.

Previously announced performers include Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton, Keith Urban, Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan, Jason Aldean and Thomas Rhett.

Carrie Underwood, who has won the CMT Music Awards’ Video of the Year honors a record six times, has a chance to extend that record with “Smoke Break.” Other Video of the Year nominees include Cam’s “Burning House” and Stapleton’s “Fire Away,” along with clips from Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line, Jason Aldean, Keith Urban, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan, Sam Hunt, Thomas Rhett and Tim McGraw. Fan voting is open at and will continue until Monday, June 6th, at 12:01 a.m. ET. The 12 contenders for the top prize will be narrowed down to six revealed at the start of the live show. Viewers will have until the end of the telecast to vote for their favorite.

On June 1st, CMT will also reveal a surprise awards category. The fan-voted CMT Music Awards will air live from Music City on June 8th, at 8 p.m. ET/PT.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.