Dierks Bentley, Elle King to Collaborate on 2016 CMT Awards - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Dierks Bentley, Elle King to Collaborate on 2016 CMT Awards

Billy Ray Cyrus and Cheap Trick to also pair on live broadcast

Dierks BentleyDierks Bentley

Elle King and Dierks Bentley will debut "Different for Girls" on the CMT Music Awards.

Paul Marotta/Getty Images and Paul Zimmerman/WireImage

More collaborations have been added to the performance lineup for the 2016 CMT Awards, scheduled for June 7th at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena. Singer-songwriter Dierks Bentley will be joined by rising pop star Elle King, while singer-actor Billy Ray Cyrus will team up with Rock and Roll Hall of Fame group Cheap Trick. 

Bentley recruited King — who scored her own hit in 2015 with “Ex’s and Oh’s — to sing on the song “Different for Girls” for his new album Black, which will get its television debut on June 7th. Cyrus, who stars in CMT’s new series Still the King, will share the stage with the “Surrender” performers for an as-yet-unspecified mash-up. Still the King premieres on June 12th and Cyrus’ video for a song called “Hey Elvis” hits CMT on June 4th.

They join previously announced collaborations Blake Shelton with the Oak Ridge Boys and Keith Urban with Maren Morris and Brett Eldredge. Shelton will perform his “Doing It to Country Songs” from the new album If I’m Honest, and Urban will be joined by his tourmates Eldredge and Morris to reprise the single “Wasted Time” from his new album Ripcord. Red-hot pop quintet Fifth Harmony is also slated to sing with Cam. Other performers on the show, which will be hosted by sportscaster Erin Andrews and NFL all-star J.J. Watt, include Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan, Jason Aldean, Thomas Rhett and Florida Georgia Line.

Stapleton, Cam and Carrie Underwood initially led among nominees with three nods apiece, but the reveal of the new Social Superstar category bumped Blake Shelton and Thomas Rhett’s totals up to three as well. Other nominees in that category include Kelsea Ballerini, Brett Eldredge, Jake Owen and Lindsay Ell.

The 2016 CMT Music Awards airs live from Nashville on Wednesday, June 8th at 8 p.m. ET.

In This Article: Dierks Bentley


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.