Darius Rucker to Release Christmas Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Darius Rucker to Release Christmas Album

Country singer readies ‘Home for the Holidays,’ which includes a duet with Sheryl Crow

Darius Rucker and Sheryl Crow

Darius Rucker and Sheryl Crow, who duet together on Rucker's upcoming holiday album, perform in Las Vegas.

Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Darius Rucker is releasing a Christmas album — and Sheryl Crow opened the present early. The singer posted a photo of herself with Rucker on her Facebook page last week with the caption “Merry Christmas Baby! (I sang on his upcoming Christmas record).” Rucker followed with a tweet a few days later, writing “We’ve got something special coming from us to y’all very soon!”

Today comes official news of the album title, release date and track list: Rucker’s Home for the Holidays will hit stores October 27th and features classics such as “Baby It’s Cold Outside” (with Crow), “Winter Wonderland” and “O Come All Ye Faithful.” See the full song list below, which also includes two original holiday tunes co-written by the country singer.

“I am so excited to finally make a Christmas album,” says Rucker. “This has been a lifelong dream, and I hope my fans enjoy listening as much as I enjoyed making it.”

Before the holiday season, however, the South Carolina native is concentrating on his new single, “Homegrown Honey,” written with Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley and producer Nathan Chapman. “It’s a little different for me,” Rucker told Rolling Stone Country recently. “It’s talking about some country girl who lives in New York City. It’s got hooks galore.”

“Homegrown Honey” appears on his upcoming fourth solo album, which the singer is finishing with producer Frank Rogers. The project is expected in early 2015.

“There are days where I still have to pinch myself and say, ‘Is this really happening?'” Rucker says of his successful transition from the pop charts with Hootie & the Blowfish to country music. “[Making a country album] was just something I was going to do in a basement studio with my buddies in Charleston. Now I got a record deal and here I am making my fourth record. It’s absolutely crazy to think…. I thank God every day for this.”

Darius Rucker, Home For The Holidays Track Listing:
1.  “I’ll Be Home For Christmas”
2.  “White Christmas”
3.  “Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow”
4.  “Winter Wonderland”
5.  “Please Come Home for Christmas”
6.  “What God Wants for Christmas” (written by Darius Rucker, Frank Rogers and Monty Criswell)
7.  “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” (featuring Sheryl Crow)
8.  “O Come, All Ye Faithful”
9.  “You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch”
10. “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”
11. “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”
12. “Candy Cane Christmas” (written by Darius Rucker, Frank Rogers and Steve Leslie)

In This Article: Darius Rucker, Sheryl Crow


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.