Dale Watson Plans Live 'Chicken Sh!+ Bingo Sunday' Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Dale Watson Plans Live ‘Chicken Sh!+ Bingo Sunday’ Album

Collection captures Texas honky-tonk hero in his element, offers covers of Jerry Reed and Merle Haggard

Dale WatsonDale Watson

Dale Watson's new album 'Live at the Big T Roadhouse: Chicken Sh!+ Bingo' will be available in August.

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

Texas honky-tonk stalwart Dale Watson will bring his unforgettable live show to disc with his forthcoming release Live at the Big T Roadhouse, Chicken SH!+ Bingo Sunday. Named for a uniquely Austin tradition involving fowl and bingo, the album will be available August 19th via Red House/Ameripolitan Records. 

Recorded live at Watson’s own bar in St. Hedwig, Texas, Live at the Big T captures Watson and his band the Lonestars in their element — entertaining a rowdy, beer-swilling crowd with their signature honky-tonk while hosting the titular bingo game. Songs included on the album are covers of Jerry Reed’s “Amos Moses” and Merle Haggard’s “The Bottle Let Me Down” as well as Watson originals like “I Gotta Drive” and “Where Do You Want It,” written as a tribute to Billie Joe Shaver after the outlaw singer’s 2007 trial for shooting a man outside a bar. Full track listing appears below. Watson’s previous live album Live in London… England! was issued in 2002. 

In June 2015, Watson released his album Call Me Insane and furthered his commitment to the sound he dubbed “Ameripolitan” — a mix of honky-tonk, outlaw country, rockabilly and western swing. A year earlier, he founded the Ameripolitan Awards in Austin to honor artists upholding those musical traditions and to give a name to their sound that distinguished it from what was going on in mainstream country.

If he’s not working or playing at the Big T, Watson can generally be found on the road. Tonight, he’s got a show at The Highball in Austin and tomorrow he’ll travel to Arlington, Texas to play a free all ages show at the Levitt Pavilion.

Live at the Big T track listing:
1. Intro                       
2. Big T’s        
3. The Best Dog in the Land   
4. Sit and Drink and Cry                     
5. The Best Beer in the World 
6. Where Do You Want It
7. 4 Times
8. Everybody’s Somebody In St. Hedwig, Texas
9. Back Yonder
10. The Fugitive
11. Winner #1
12. I Gotta Drive
13. Best Dog/ Best Beer
14. Honky Tonkers Don’t Cry
15. Lubbock Boy
16. Your Chance To Win
17. The Bottle Let Me Down
18. Looks Great, Taste Great…Sounds Great
19. Inside View
20. Winner #2
21. I Don’t Rock No Cradle
22. Smile
23. Get To Know Don Don
24. Don Don Boogie
25. Oh No, Saddest Day In My Life
26. Tienes Cabeza De Palo
27. Right Now
28. Amos Moses
29. Deep In The Heart Of Texas
30. Never Ever
31. Last Chance
32. I Lie When I Drink
33. Winner #3
34. Birmingham Break Down
35. Winner #4-Goodnight!


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.