Chris Janson Enlists Tim McGraw for Duet on New Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Chris Janson Enlists Tim McGraw for Duet on New Album

Cautionary “Messin’ With Jesus” appears on Janson’s debut LP ‘Buy Me a Boat,’ out October 30th

Chris Janson, Tim McGrawChris Janson, Tim McGraw

Tim McGraw duets with "Buy Me a Boat" singer Chris Janson on a song on Janson's upcoming debut album.

John Shearer/GettyImages

Chris Janson, whose first single for Warner Music Nashville, “Buy Me a Boat,” recently sailed into the Number One slot on the Mediabase country chart, has revealed details of his debut album for the label. Titled after that gold-certified hit, Buy Me a Boat is set for release on October 30th and features a duet with a superstar who once cut one of Janson’s songs.

Related: Fall Country Music Preview 2015: 25 Essential Albums, Events

Tim McGraw joins Janson on “Messin’ With Jesus,” one of the LP’s 11 tracks, all co-written by Janson. The relative newcomer and the veteran artist have some history together – Janson was one of the writers of McGraw’s 2012 single “Truck Yeah” and the pair performed together last month during McGraw’s Nashville stop on his current tour.

Janson, who moved from his native Missouri to Nashville at the age of 19, has charted some rough seas on the way to Buy Me a Boat. The singer-songwriter left Sony Music Nashville after the release of one single and later signed with Bigger Picture, where he had moderate success with the rollicking “Better I Don’t.” That label shuttered in 2014, however, before he could release a full-length LP. While McGraw, along with Hank Williams Jr. and Joe Nichols, among others, had cut his songs, it was Janson’s DIY approach, putting “Buy Me a Boat” on iTunes, where DJ Bobby Bones helped push it to Number One on their country chart, that helped secure his current record deal. But even if that opportunity had never arisen, Janson would still be busy penning songs.


“I just write to write,” he tells Rolling Stone Country. “I write songs I think are cool, or songs that mean something to me. I focus on one step at a time. Write them first, then see how they sound. . . Some make the live shows, some make the record, some don’t ever get heard.”

Janson was handpicked by Luke Bryan to join his upcoming Farm Tour, kicking off September 30th in Fort Wayne, Indiana. McGraw meanwhile will release his own new album, Damn Country Music, featuring another song co-written by Janson, on November 6th.

Here’s the track list for Buy Me a Boat:
1. “Buy Me a Boat”
2. “Power of Positive Drinkin'”
3. “Under the Sun”
4. “Holdin’ Her”
5. “Messin’ With Jesus” (with Tim McGraw)
6. “Right in the Middle”
7. “Save a Little Sugar”
8. “Back in My Drinkin’ Days”
9. “Where You Come In”
10. “Yeah It Is”
11. “White Trash”

In This Article: Chris Janson, Tim McGraw


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.