Carrie Underwood Describes 'Little Toy Guns' Lyrics - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Carrie Underwood Describes Somber Song ‘Little Toy Guns’

Singer writes about the detriments of fighting in front of children

Carrie Underwood Little Toy GunsCarrie Underwood Little Toy Guns

Carrie Underwood performs onstage during 'The Concert For Valor' at The National Mall on November 11, 2014 in Washington, DC.

Kevin Mazur/Getty Images

The only song on Carrie Underwood’s Greatest Hits: Decade #1 album that fans have not yet heard is “Little Toy Guns,” which sounds like it could be the prequel to her 2012 hit, “Blown Away.” Though she’s keeping it under lock and key until her new compilation’s December 9th release date, the pregnant star hints that the new tune drives home a message about how not to raise a child.

“There’s a little girl and she hears her parents fighting, as unfortunately a lot of kids do,” she says of the lyrics (as reported by The Country Vibe). “So it’s basically her saying, ‘I wish their words weren’t real. I wish they were like little toy guns and they didn’t hurt you.'”

Tearjerking lyrics, but with an uptempo melody, Underwood reveals, also explaining that she was inspired by observing children she knows who are dramatically affected by their parents fighting. The country superstar penned the new tune with Chris DeStefano, also her co-writer on “Something in the Water” and “Good Girl,” and Hillary Lindsey, whose long list of Underwood songs include “Last Name,” “Two Black Cadillacs” and “Jesus, Take the Wheel.”

“Little Toy Guns” is one of two brand-new songs on Greatest Hits: Decade #1, following Underwood’s current single, “Something in the Water.” Aside from platinum-selling hits such as “Before He Cheats” and “Good Girl,” the album also includes never-before-heard writing session worktapes of three songs and a duet with Vince Gill on the classic hymn, “How Great Thou Art,” recorded at the ACM Presents: Girls’ Night Out show in 2011. See the full track list for both discs in the compilation below.

Underwood, due with a boy in the spring, will perform at the December 15th American Country Countdown Awards in Nashville.

Carrie Underwood, Greatest Hits: Decade #1 — Disc One
1. “Something in the Water”
2. “Little Toy Guns”
3. “Inside Your Heaven”
4. “Jesus, Take the Wheel”
5. “Don’t Forget to Remember Me”
6. “Before He Cheats”
7. “Wasted”
8. “So Small”
9. “All-American Girl”
10. “Last Name”
11. “Just a Dream”
12. “I Told You So” (featuring Randy Travis)

Disc Two
1. “Cowboy Casanova”
2. “Temporary Home”
3. “Undo It”
4. “Mama’s Song”
5. “Remind Me” (duet with Brad Paisley)
6. “Good Girl”
7. “Blown Away”
8. “Two Black Cadillacs”
9. “See You Again”
10. “How Great Thou Art” (with Vince Gill) [Live from ACM Presents: Girls’ Night Out]
11. “So Small” (writing session worktape)
12. “Last Name” (writing session worktape)
13. “Mama’s Song” (writing session worktape)

In This Article: Carrie Underwood


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.