Big & Rich Aim to 'Smash Some Planets Together' With New Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Big & Rich Aim to ‘Smash Some Planets Together’ With New Album

‘Gravity’ will be the country duo’s first LP on their own label

Big & Rich perform at the 2014 Bayou Country Superfest

Erika Goldring/WireImage

“It has always been gravitational,” says John Rich of his decade-long musical partnership with Big Kenny. “You’re a planet, I’m a planet… we oughta smash some planets together. That’s the essence of gravity.”

Country’s 15 Highest Drug Odes

And so was born the title of Big & Rich’s fifth studio album, Gravity. The new project, due September 25th, will be the country duo’s first on their own record label, Big & Rich Records. Their first four albums, along with Rich’s debut solo LP, were all released via Warner Music Nashville. This is Big Kenny’s second stint as a record label head, as his 2009 solo album came out via his own Glotown/Love Everybody, LLC.

“This is an exciting and intense time in the history of Big and Rich,” says Big Kenny. “As artists, we are now at the place where we can finally gain complete creative control. That’s huge. It allows us to be true to ourselves and be the trailblazers we’ve always risked being.”

The first taste of Gravity is the Rich and Shannon Lawson-penned “Look at You,” a haunting tune about the one that got away. The disc will also include a collaboration with country superstar Tim McGraw on “Lovin’ Lately.”

Gravity Track Listing:

1. “Look at You”
2. “Lovin’ Lately” (feat. Tim McGraw)
3. “Gravity”
4. “Brand New Buzz”
5. “Rollin’ Along”
6. “Run Away With You”
7. “Lose A Little Sleep”
8. “Don’t Wake Me Up”
9. “That Kind of Town”
10. “Thank God for Pain”
11. “I Came to Git Down”

In This Article: Big & Rich


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.