Angaleena Presley's New Album to Feature Miranda Lambert Song - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Angaleena Presley’s New Album to Feature Miranda Lambert Song

Singer-songwriter’s ‘Wrangled’ also includes tunes co-written with Chris Stapleton, Guy Clark and Wanda Jackson

Angaleena PresleyAngaleena Presley

Angaleena Presley's 'Wrangled' album will be released April 21st.

Gary Miller/Getty

With her upcoming sophomore album, Wrangled, singer-songwriter Angaleena Presley takes direct aim at topics such as discrimination against women in country music and what she terms the “high-school mentality of Music Row and the pain that’s just beneath the surface of the road to stardom.” Out April 21st on Mining Light/Thirty Tigers, Wrangled was co-produced by Presley with Oran Thornton (Eric Church, David Nail) and is the follow-up to her 2015 debut, American Middle Class. See the track listing and cover art below.

The dozen tracks on Wrangled were penned by the Kentucky native either on her own or with co-writers that include Chris Stapleton, Wanda Jackson and Guy Clark. “Cheer Up Little Darling,” was the final song Clark completed before his death last May. On it, musician Shawn Camp plays Clark‘s No. 10 guitar, which was used to write the song, and Clark‘s mandola.

Also among the standout cuts is “Dreams Don’t Come True,” reuniting Presley with her Pistol Annies band mates, Miranda Lambert and Ashley Monroe. “Only Blood” was written with fellow East Kentuckian Chris Stapleton and features guest vocals from his wife, Morgane Stapleton.

Angaleena Presley 'Wrangled' album cover

“Covered in elbow grease and sacrifice, I set out to shed the skin of my ‘dream’ Nashville by painting a musical picture of loss, surrender, resurrection, redemption and connection with real people who make and support honest music,” Presley says in a statement. The Wrangled cover features the outspoken artist bound in rope and gagged by a red bandana on the cover, itself an homage to the provocative artwork featured on classic country albums of the Sixties and early Seventies.

Presley is among the artists participating in the upcoming Cayamo Cruise, which sets sail February 19th through the 26th. Her spring and summer tour dates are expected to be announced in the coming weeks.

Angaleena Presley’s Wrangled track listing (and songwriters):

1. “Dreams Don’t Come True” (Angaleena Presley, Miranda Lambert, Ashley Monroe)
2. “High School” (Angaleena Presley, Ivy Walker, Sophie Walker)
3. “Only Blood” (Featuring Morgane Stapleton) / (Angaleena Presley, Chris Stapleton )
4. “Country” (Featuring Yelawolf) / (Angaleena Presley, Michael Wayne Atha)
5. “Wrangled” (Angaleena Presley)
6. “Bless My Heart” (Angaleena Presley)
7. “Outlaw” (Angaleena Presley)
8. “Mama I Tried” (Angaleena Presley, Oran Thornton)
9. “Cheer Up Little Darling” (Angaleena Presley, Guy Clark)
10. “Groundswell” (Angaleena Presley, Ian Fitchuk)
11. “Good Girl Down” (Angaleena Presley, Wanda Jackson, Vanessa Olavarez)
12. “Motel Bible” (Angaleena Presley, Oran Thornton, Trevor Thornton)

In This Article: Angaleena Presley


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.