ACM Awards 2020: The Complete Winners List - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

ACM Awards 2020: The Complete Winners List

It’s a tie — two artists win the top prize of Entertainer of the Year

Carrie Underwood, ACM AwardsCarrie Underwood, ACM Awards

Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett tied for Entertainer of the Year at the 55th ACM Awards.


In a first for the ACM Awards, two artists tied for the night’s top prize: Thomas Rhett and Carrie Underwood each won Entertainer of the Year. “2020, right?” Underwood said, upon accepting the award and elbow-bumping host Keith Urban. Underwood won Entertainer of the Year twice before in 2008 and 2009; this is Rhett’s first Entertainer win.

Elsewhere, Luke CombsWhat You See Is What You Get was named Album of the Year. The “Lovin’ on You” singer also won Male Artist of the Year, while Maren Morris won Female Artist of the Year. “This is so weird talking to no one,” she said upon accepting her trophy onstage at an empty Grand Ole Opry House. “Thank you country music — and vote!”

Blake Shelton’s “God’s Country” took home Single of the Year, and Old Dominion’s “One Man Band” won Song of the Year. Old Dominion also triumphed as Group of the Year, with the band members all wearing masks to accept their award. Dan + Shay were named Duo of the Year. See the full list of winners below.

Thomas Rhett wins Entertainer of the Year performing on the 55TH ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS™, hosted by Keith Urban and broadcasting Wednesday, Sept. 16 (live 8:00-11:00 PM ET/delayed PT) on the CBS Television Network, and available to stream live and on demand on CBS All Access. Photo Credit: Brent Harrington/CBS

Thomas Rhett tied with Carrie Underwood for the top prize of Entertainer of the Year at the ACM Awards.

Brent Harrington/CBS*

Delayed from the original April date due to Covid-19, the 2020 Academy of Country Music Awards came to Nashville for the first time in its history on Wednesday, with the awards handed out live at Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry House, and performances at the Ryman Auditorium, Bluebird Cafe, and Opry House.

Ahead of the broadcast, winners were named in a handful of categories. In mid-August, Urban surprised Tenille Townes and Riley Green via Zoom to inform them that they were the New Artist of the Year winners. On Monday, three more winners were announced. Those included Thomas Rhett’s “Remember You Young” for Video of the Year and Hillary Lindsey winning her first Songwriter of the Year award. In the Music Event of the Year, the prize went to Miranda Lambert’s one-off cover of Elvin Bishop’s “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” featuring tourmates Maren Morris, Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Tenille Townes, and Elle King.

Here’s the complete list of winners at the 55th ACM Awards:

Entertainer of the Year – TIE
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett — WINNER
Carrie Underwood — WINNER

Female Artist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris — WINNER
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Artist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs — WINNER
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Duo of the Year
Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay — WINNER
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie and Tae

Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion — WINNER
The Highwomen

New Female Artist of the Year
Ingrid Andress
Gabby Barrett
Lindsay Ell
Caylee Hammack
Tenille Townes — WINNER

New Male Artist of the Year
Jordan Davis
Russell Dickerson
Riley Green — WINNER
Cody Johnson
Morgan Wallen

Album of the Year
Center Point Road – Thomas Rhett
Girl – Maren Morris
Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi
What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs — WINNER
Wildcard – Miranda Lambert

Single of the Year
“God’s Country” – Blake Shelton — WINNER
“One Man Band” – Old Dominion
“Rainbow” – Kacey Musgraves
“Rumor” – Lee Brice
“What If I Never Get Over You” – Lady Antebellum

Song of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
“Girl Goin’ Nowhere” – Ashley McBryde
“God’s Country” – Blake Shelton
“One Man Band” – Old Dominion — WINNER
“Some of It” – Eric Church

Video of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
“God’s Country – Blake Shelton
“One Man Band” – Old Dominion
“Remember You Young” – Thomas Rhett — WINNER
“Sugarcoat” – Little Big Town

Songwriter of the Year
Ashley Gorley
Michael Hardy
Hillary Lindsey — WINNER
Shane McAnally
Josh Osborne

Music Event of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
“Dive Bar” – Garth Brooks feat. Blake Shelton
“Fooled Around and Fell in Love” – Miranda Lambert feat. Maren Morris, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes, Caylee Hammack, and Elle King — WINNER
“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
“What Happens in a Small Town” – Brantley Gilbert feat. Lindsay Ell


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.