2019 ACM Awards: Chris Stapleton, Dan + Shay Lead Nominations - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

2019 ACM Awards: Dan + Shay, Chris Stapleton Score Six Nominations

“Tequila” duo and rootsy country vocalist lead all nominees at 54th Academy of Country Music Awards

Dan + Shay, ACM AwardsDan + Shay, ACM Awards

Vocal duo Dan + Shay and perennial favorite Chris Stapleton are the leading nominees at the 54th annual ACM Awards.


Dan + Shay, the power-country duo who won their first Grammy Award this year for their hit song “Tequila,” and perennial favorite Chris Stapleton were the top nominees when nominations for the 54th annual ACM Awards were announced Wednesday morning. Both Stapleton and Dan + Shay each received six nominations, including nods for Album of the Year, with Dan + Shay’s Dan Smyers receiving four additional nominations for his work as producer and songwriter.

Smyers and Shay Mooney are also up for Duo, Single, Song, Video and Music Event of the Year. Stapleton earned Album recognition for From A Room: Volume 2, along with Entertainer, Male Artist and Song of the Year (he scores his other two nominations as producer and songwriter).

Kacey Musgraves, whose Golden Hour was declared Album of the Year at the 61st Grammys, is up for five trophies: for Album (as artist and producer), Song (as artist and songwriter) and female vocalist, a category that, along with its male counterpart, have been rebranded for 2019 as Female Artist of the Year and Male Artist of the Year. (The categories were previously known as Top Male/Female Vocalist.)

All male artists make up this year’s field for the top Entertainer prize: Stapleton is joined by Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney and Keith Urban. Aldean, the reigning ACM Entertainer of the Year, is vying for his fourth consecutive title.

The 54th ACM Awards air Sunday, April 7th, on CBS, live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Here are the nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Artist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Artist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion

New Female Artist of the Year
Danielle Bradbery
Lindsay Ell
Ashley McBryde
Carly Pearce

New Male Artist of the Year
Jimmie Allen
Luke Combs
Jordan Davis
Michael Ray
Mitchell Tenpenny

New Duo or Group of the Year
High Valley
Runaway June

Album of the Year
Dan + Shay, Dan + Shay
Desperate Man, Eric Church
From A Room: Volume 2, Chris Stapleton
Golden Hour, Kacey Musgraves
The Mountain, Dierks Bentley

Single of the Year
“Down to the Honky Tonk,” Jake Owen
“Heaven,” Kane Brown
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line
“Most People Are Good,” Luke Bryan
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay

Song of the Year
“Break Up in the End,” Cole Swindell
“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line
“Space Cowboy,” Kacey Musgraves
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay
“Yours,” Russell Dickerson

Video of the Year
“Babe,” Sugarland featuring Taylor Swift
“Burn Out,” Midland
“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne
“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson
“Shoot Me Straight,” Brothers Osborne
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay

Songwriter of the Year
Ross Copperman
Ashley Gorley
Shane McAnally
Chase McGill
Josh Osborne

Music Event of the Year
“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” David Lee Murphy featuring Kenny Chesney
“Keeping Score,” Dan + Shay featuring Kelly Clarkson
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha Featuring Florida Georgia Line


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.