Review: Prophets of Rage Call for Revolution on New Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Album Reviews

Review: Prophets of Rage, Rap-Rock Supergroup, Calls for Revolution

All-stars from Public Enemy, Rage Against the Machine, Cypress Hill address injustices with hard-driving anthems in full-length debut album

prophets of rage self-titled album reviewprophets of rage self-titled album review

After 2016's EP, Prophets of Rage returns with a full-length, self-titled album.

Travis Shinn

This rap-rock supergroup – featuring Public
Enemy’s Chuck D and DJ Lord, Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk, and Cypress
Hill’s B-Real – revved up old PE and RATM classics on their debut 2016 EP. The
band’s first full-length contains 12 hardrocking lefty diatribes against
government conspiracies (“Drones – they got ya tapped, they got ya phone,”
Chuck D raps in “Take Me Higher”), civil injustice (“We fuckin’
matter,” he declares on “Who Owns Who”) and, in the case of B-Real’s
rhymes, restrictive weed laws (“Legalize Me”). The only thing they’re
missing is Rage singer Zack de la Rocha’s bloodthirsty snarl. 


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.