'The Rocket,' 'Kill Team' Win at Tribeca Film Festival - Rolling Stone
Home Movies Movie News

‘The Rocket,’ ‘Kill Team’ Win at Tribeca Film Festival

Scorsese, De Niro take stage for screening of 1982’s ‘The King of Comedy’

Kim Mordaunt tribeca film festival

Director Kim Mordaunt speaks at the TFF Awards Night during the 2013 Tribeca Film Festival in New York City.

Jemal Countess/Getty Images for Tribeca Film Festival

Kim Mordaunt’s The Rocket was the surprise winner at this year’s Tribeca Film Festival, taking home both the Grand Jury Prize and the Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature. Set in rural Laos, the story centers on a young boy who is determined to escape his fate by constructing a rocket.

The Special Jury Prize for narrative feature was given to Stand Clear of the Closing Doors, a sensory portrait of a young autistic boy lost on the subway on the eve of Hurricane Sandy. The Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature went to Bridegroom, a timely film focusing on the bureaucratic headaches same-sex couples face following the death of a partner.

The National Documentary ‘Mistaken for Strangers’ Premieres at Tribeca Film Festival

Also at the festival, 86-year-old comedian Jerry Lewis joined Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro onstage following a screening of Scorsese’s 1982 cult hit The King Of Comedy. In the film, De Niro and Sandra Bernhard play delusional fans obsessed with a late-night talk show host, portrayed by Lewis.

Earlier in the week, the prize for Best Documentary Feature was awarded to The Kill Team, which follows up with the disgraced band of U.S. soldiers as they await sentencing for war crimes committed against Afghan civilians.

Internet visitors selected Lil Bub & Friendz as the best feature film in the Tribeca Online Festival, proving not only does the Internet love cats, but the Internet also loves films about Internet cats.

List of winners
Best Narrative Feature – The Rocket, directed by Kim Mordaunt (Australia)

Special Jury Mention – Stand Clear of the Closing Doors, directed by Sam Fleischner (USA)

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Sitthiphon Disamoe as Ahlo in The Rocket, directed by Kim Mordaunt (Australia)

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Veerle Baetens as Elise Vandevelde in The Broken Circle Breakdown, directed by Felix van Groeningen (Netherlands, Belgium)

Best Cinematography in a Narrative Feature Film – Marius Matzow Gulbrandsen for Before Snowfall, directed by Hisham Zaman (Germany, Norway)

Best Screenplay for a Narrative Feature Film – The Broken Circle Breakdown, written by Carl Joos and Felix van Groeningen and directed by Felix van Groeningen (Netherlands, Belgium)

Best New Narrative Director – Emanuel Hoss-Desmarais, director of Whitewash  (Canada)

Special Jury Mention – Harmony Lessons, directed by Emir Baigazin (Germany, France)

Best Documentary Feature – The Kill Team, directed by Dan Krauss (USA)

Special Jury Mention: Oxyana, directed by Sean Dunne (USA)

Best Editing in a Documentary Feature – Let the Fire Burn, edited by Nels Bangerter, directed by Jason Osder (USA)

Best New Documentary Director – Sean Dunne for Oxyana (USA)

Special Jury Mention – Let the Fire Burn, directed by Jason Osder (USA)


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.