Home Movies Movie News

‘Straight Outta Compton’ Soundtrack and Score Set for Release

Blockbuster biopic, with extras, also gets digital and physical home release dates

Straight Outta Compton, NWA

An upcoming 'Straight Outta Compton' soundtrack will feature songs from N.W.A, Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, Eazy-E and more.An upcoming 'Straight Outta Compton' soundtrack will feature songs from N.W.A, Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, Eazy-E and more

Jamie Trueblood/Universal Pictures/Everett Collection

This summer’s blockbuster N.W.A biopic, Straight Outta Compton, will be getting two new soundtrack releases in early 2016. One of these, titled Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack (not to be confused with Dr. Dre’s Compton) boasts remastered versions of classic N.W.A cuts like “Fuck Tha Police,” “Express Yourself” and the title track. The 17-track effort is rounded out by solo tunes from group members Ice Cube (“No Vaseline”), Eazy-E (“Boyz-N-The Hood”) and Dr. Dre (“Nuthin’ But a G Thang”), as well as relevant tracks from acts like Parliament, Funkadelic, the Roy Ayers Ubiquity and Steve Arrington’s Hall of Fame.

The second release, titled Straight Outta Compton: Original Motion Picture Score, will be made up of original music composed and conducted for the film by Joseph Trapanese. Both collections will be issued digitally and on CD through Universal Music on January 8th. Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack will also be available as a double-vinyl set.

Additionally, Straight Outta Compton, the film, will see a digital HD release on January 5th, via Universal Pictures. This will be followed on January 19th by Blu-ray, DVD and On Demand versions. The Blu-ray and Digital HD versions will include an unrated director’s cut with more than 20 minutes of additional footage, including deleted scenes and commentary from director F. Gary Gray.

Former N.W.A manager Jerry Heller, portrayed in Straight Outta Compton by Paul Giamatti, recently filed suit against Ice Cube, Dr. Dre and Eazy-E’s widow Tomica Woods-Wright, who all served as producers on the movie, director F. Gary Gray, the film’s screenwriters and NBC-Universal. The suit claims the film vilified him and wrongly made his business dealings look shady, claiming he withheld checks, dined on lobster brunches while the group members waited for final contracts and that Eazy-E fired him, among other instances.

Heller told Rolling Stone earlier this month that none of the allegations leveled against him are true and is seeking $110 million in combined compensatory and punitive damages for defamation, copyright infringement, breach of contract and other charges.

The full track lists for Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack and Straight Outta Compton: Original Motion Picture Score are below.

Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack

1. N.W.A – “Straight Outta Compton”
2. Parliament – “Flash Light”
3. Eazy-E – “We Want Eazy”
4. N.W.A – “Gangsta Gangsta”
5. Funkadelic – “(Not Just) Knee Deep”
6. Eazy-E – “The Boyz-N-The Hood”
7. Roy Ayers Ubiquity – “Everybody Loves the Sunshine”
8. N.W.A – “Dopeman (Remix)”
9. N.W.A – “Fuck tha Police”
10. N.W.A – “Express Yourself”
11. Steve Arrington’s Hall of Fame – “Weak at the Knees”
12. N.W.A – “Quiet on tha Set”
13. N.W.A – “8 Ball (Remix)”
14. Ice Cube – “The Nigga Ya Love to Hate”
15. N.W.A – “Real Niggaz”
16. Ice Cube – “No Vaseline”
17. Dr. Dre – “Nuthin’ But a ‘G’ Thang” (ft. Snoop Dogg)

Straight Outta Compton: Original Motion Picture Score

1. “Police Bust”
2. “Dre and Tyree”
3. “Our Block”
4. “News from Home”
5. “Detroit”
6. “Give Me My Money”
7. “Lench Mob vs. Ruthless”
8. “Visitation”
9. “We Were Brothers”
10. “Bompton”
11. “Pistol Whipped”
12. “Uprising”
13. “Reflections”
14. “Dre Chase”
15. “Without Jerry”
16. “Legacy”
17. “Tribute for Eazy” (ft. Mike Lang) (Bonus)

In This Article: Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, N.W.A

Show Comments


Powered by
Close comments

Add a comment