CFDAs to Honor Johnny Depp with 'Fashion Icon' Award

Tommy Hilfiger, Mary Kate and Ashley also up for prizes

Johnny Depp arrives at a photo call for the French premiere of the film 'The Rum Diary' in Paris. Credit: UPI/David Silpa /LANDOV

The CFDAs – the Grammys of fashion – announced their annual round of nominees yesterday. Among the usual design award suspects (Marc Jacobs, Proenza Schouler, Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for the Row), the industry will be saluting a Hollywood legend: Johnny Depp. Depp will receive the first-ever Fashion Icon Award for his eccentric legacy of "wacky hats" and "watch chains," as New York puts it.

Though Depp may not exhibit conventional dress sense, his ability to make the combination of a soul patch, a fedora and pajamas look less than awful takes a special talent, the type that madcap designers like Thom Browne and Dries Van Noten rest their fortunes upon.

Other predetermined CFDA recipients include Tommy Hilfiger, who will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. Hilfiger, recently of American Idol fame, founded his label in 1984 and has remained a stalwart of New York City design. Meanwhile, Scott Schuman (of the Sartorialist) and Garance Doré – arguably the pioneers of street style blogging – will win the Media Award.

The CFDAs will be held on June 4th at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts' Alice Tully Hall with comedian Seth Meyers as host.

Full list of CFDA nominees:
Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler and Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid, Patrik Ervell and Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler and Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear: Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind, Joseph Altuzarra and Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear: Antonio Azzuolo, Phillip Lim and Todd Snyder

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessory Design: Irene Neuwirth, Pamela Love and Tabitha Simmons

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger

The Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Scott Schuman & Garance Doré

The Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp

The Founders Award, given in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Rosen

The International Award: Rei Kawakubo

Preview Madonna's Truth or Dare Shoe Collection