DJ Earworm's 'United State of Pop 2012' Has Arrived
Mashup master concocts dark, fiery retrospective track

DJ Earworm's annual "United State of Pop" has arrived, and this year's iteration, "Shine Brighter," includes huge hits including Gotye's "Somebody That I Used to Know," Bruno Mars' "Locked Out of Heaven," Carly Rae Jepsen's "Call Me Maybe," Ke$ha's "Die Young," fun.'s "We Are Young" and 20 other top tracks from 2012.

The 25 DJs That Rule the Earth

Although EDM continues to build its massive pop presence, DJ Earworm told Chicago Magazine that this edition is a little light on "dance floor feeling," but focused on "melody and hooks and making sure the structure is a nice pop song," and thematic elements like darkness and fire. "You see themes that are fading. The apocalypse theme is still around, but it's fading," he said. "Ke$ha's talking about dying young – well, that theme's been around for a long time. 'We're going to live tonight like it's the last night,' 'this is all there is' – for a few years that's been going on. I see that fading a little bit."

DJ Earworm will release his official video for "United State of Pop" 2012 on December 25th.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.