Young, Lips Join Bonnaroo

Second wave of performers announced for Tennessee fest

March 10, 2003 12:00 AM ET

The list of artists for the 2003 Bonnaroo Music Festival is on the brink of exceeding the population of its host town in Manchester, Tennessee. Neil Young and Crazy Horse, the Flaming Lips, the Drive-By Truckers, the Polyphonic Spree, DJ Spooky, the Funky Meters, Alison Krauss and Union Station, Emmylou Harris, Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon, Spearhead, the Slip, Jazon Mraz and Ben Kweller are among the artists who have been added to the lineup for the second annual event.

Previously announced acts include jam bands old (the Dead, the Allman Brothers Band), new (Widespread Panic, Moe) and nouveau (Robert Randolph and the Family Band). Also represented will be jazz (Medeski Martin and Wood, Galactic), noise rock (Sonic Youth), new grass (Nickel Creek), rap (the Roots) and classic soul (James Brown). Warren Haynes, Tortoise, the North Mississippi All Stars, Jack Johnson, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Mix Master Mike, the Yonder Mountain String Band, and Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals are among the other bands who will take the stage between June 13th and 15th.

Amid all the additions, only one act, Smokey and Miho, has had to pull out of the festival.

The event will be held on a 600-acre farm in Manchester, about sixty miles south of Nashville. Tickets went on sale late last month, and can be purchased through bonnaroo.com.

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“You Oughta Know”

Alanis Morissette | 1995

This blunt, bitter breakup song -- famous for its line "Would she go down on you in a theater?" -- was long rumored to be about Alanis Morissette getting dumped by Full House actor Dave Coulier. But while she never confirmed it was about him (Coulier himself says it is, however), she insisted the song wasn't all about scorn. "By no means is this record just a sexual, angry record," she told Rolling Stone. "The song wasn't written for the sake of revenge. It was written for the sake of release. I'm actually a pretty rational, calm person."

More Song Stories entries »