Yeah Yeah Yeahs Unveil Eye-Popping Cover for "It's Blitz!" Single "Zero"

February 12, 2009 2:06 PM ET

There it is: the eye-catching (apologies) cover of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' first single from It's Blitz!, "Zero." Does it make you feel squeamish? Kind of dirty? Yeah, that's about right in the band's wheelhouse. You can read all about the New York trio's adventures on a Texas pecan orchard where they recorded most of the April 14th disc in the current issue of Rolling Stone, but we can tell you this: "Zero" is a synth-charged dance-floor album that Karen O says will definitely inspire spontaneous dancing. As the frontwoman told RS, It's Blitz! is about "Less angst and more positivity, man!"

It's Blitz!, the follow-up to 2006's Show Your Bones, was produced by Nick Launay (who you'll recall from the band's 2007 EP Is Is) and TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek. A few other TVOTR folks cameo on the album, too: Tunde Adebimpe sings, Kyp Malone contributes tambourine (it must be some pretty bangin' tambourine) and Stuart Bogie adds saxophone to "Dragon Queen." Other guests include cellist Jane Scarpantoni, famous for her work with 10,000 Maniacs, R.E.M., and a little-known guy from New Jersey named Bruce Springsteen.

Track list, thanks to Spin is below. And get a load of the album's egg-smashing cover art over at Pitchfork.

1. "Zero" (4:25/ Eric Biondo - trumpet, Stuart Bogie - saxophone)
2. "Heads Will Roll" (3:41)
3. "Soft Shock" (3:53)
4. "Skeletons" (5:02)
5. "Dull Life" (4:08)
6. "Shame and Fortune" (3:31)
7. "Runaway" (5:13 / Jane Scarpantoni - cello, Greg Kurstin - piano)
8. "Dragon Queen" (4:02 / Tunde Adebimpe - vocals, Stuart Bogie - saxophone, Kyp Malone - tambourine)
9. "Hysteric" (3:50 / Eric Biondo - trumpet, Stuart Bogie - saxophone)
10. "Little Shadow" (3:57/ Imaad Wasif - guitar)

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“You Oughta Know”

Alanis Morissette | 1995

This blunt, bitter breakup song -- famous for its line "Would she go down on you in a theater?" -- was long rumored to be about Alanis Morissette getting dumped by Full House actor Dave Coulier. But while she never confirmed it was about him (Coulier himself says it is, however), she insisted the song wasn't all about scorn. "By no means is this record just a sexual, angry record," she told Rolling Stone. "The song wasn't written for the sake of revenge. It was written for the sake of release. I'm actually a pretty rational, calm person."

More Song Stories entries »