Woodstock Box Set Packed With Unreleased Dead, Who Tracks

June 5, 2009 2:17 PM ET

While festivities celebrating Woodstock's 40th anniversary are still being hammered out, there's no shortage of special releases coming out to recognize the event. In addition to the reissued doc Woodstock: 3 Days of Peace & Music Rock Daily reported on earlier today, Rhino will release the six-CD Woodstock 40 Years On: Back To Yasgur's Farm box set, stocked with previously unreleased performances from the famed 1969 festival, on August 18th. The 77-song package reconstructs the festival's 33 sets chronologically, starting with Richie Havens' opening performance through Jimi Hendrix's legendary Woodstock set, with selections from the Who, Creedence Clearwater Revival, CSN&Y, Jefferson Airplane and many more filling out the six discs.

The set also includes some of the famous non-music moments from the festival, including the infamous "Brown Acid" warning and Abbie Hoffman's onstage encounter with the Who's Pete Townshend. In compiling the box set, producer Andy Zax went through tapes of each performance, selecting the best material from each of the 33 sets at Woodstock. "The way we approached all of the material was as if it was a cinéma verité documentary — the raw record of the event," Zax said in a press release. Among the unreleased goodies finally unearthed is the Who's full performance of "We're Not Gonna Take It," the Grateful Dead's entire "Dark Star" and classic cuts from Mountain and Jefferson Airplane's sets. Get the full track list here:

Disc 1
1. "Handsome Johnny" - Richie Havens
2. "Freedom (Motherless Child)" - Richie Havens
3. "Choppity Choppity" - John Morris
4. "Look Out" - Sweetwater
5. "Two Worlds" - Sweetwater
6. "Jennifer" - Bert Sommer
7. "And When It's Over" - Bert Sommer
8. "Smile" - Bert Sommer
9. "There Goes Marilyn!" - John Morris
10. "Hang On To A Dream" - Tim Hardin
11. "Simple Song Of Freedom" - Tim Hardin
12. "Flat Blue Acid" - John Morris
13. "Raga Puriya-Dhanashri/Gat In Sawarital" - Ravi Shankar
14. "Momma Momma" - Melanie
15. "Beautiful People" - Melanie
16. "Birthday Of The Sun" - Melanie
17. "Coming Into Los Angeles" - Arlo Guthrie
18. "Wheel Of Fortune" - Arlo Guthrie
19. "Every Hand In The Land" - Arlo Guthrie
20. "All You Funny People" - John Morris

Disc 2
1. "Joe Hill" - Joan Baez
2. "Sweet Sir Galahad" - Joan Baez
3. "Hickory Wind" - Joan Baez
4. "Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man" - Joan Baez w/Jeffrey Shurtleff
5. "Bring Scully His Asthma Pills" - John Morris
6. "Insulin" & Quill Intro - John Morris
7. "They Live The Life" - Quill
8. "That's How I Eat" - Quill
9. "I Understand Your Wife Is Having A Baby" - Chip Monck
10. "Donovan's Reef" - Country Joe McDonald
11. "The 'Fish' Cheer"/"I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag" - Country Joe McDonald
12. "Persuasion" - Santana
13. "Soul Sacrifice" - Santana
14. "How Have You Been" - John B. Sebastian
15. "Rainbows All Over Your Blues" - John B. Sebastian
16. "I Had A Dream" - John B. Sebastian
17. "The Letter" - Incredible String Band
18. "When You Find Out Who You Are" - Incredible String Band
19. "She Is Lost" - Chip Monck

Disc 3
1. "We're In Pretty Good Shape" - Chip Monck
2. "Going Up The Country" - Canned Heat
3. "Woodstock Boogie" - Canned Heat
4. "The Brown Acid Is Not Specifically Too Good" - Chip Monck
5. "Blood Of The Sun" - Mountain
6. "Theme For An Imaginary Western" - Mountain
7. "For Yasgur's Farm" - Mountain
8. "For Those Of You Who Have Partaken Of The Green Acid" - Chip Monck
9. "Green Acid Advice" - Jerry Garcia & Country Joe McDonald
10. "Dark Star" - Grateful Dead
11. "Green River" - Creedence Clearwater Revival
12. "Bad Moon Rising" - Creedence Clearwater Revival
13. "I Put A Spell On You" - Creedence Clearwater Revival

Disc 4
1. "Work Me, Lord" - Janis Joplin
2. "Ball And Chain" - Janis Joplin
3. Medley: "Dance To The Music"/"Music Lover"/"I Want To Take You Higher" - Sly & The Family Stone
4. "The Politics Of The Situation" - Abbie Hoffman
5. "Amazing Journey" - The Who
6. "Pinball Wizard" - The Who
7. Abbie Hoffman vs. Pete Townshend
8. "We're Not Gonna Take It" - The Who
9. "The Other Side Of This Life" - Jefferson Airplane
10. "Somebody To Love" - Jefferson Airplane
11. "Won't You Try"/ "Saturday Afternoon" - Jefferson Airplane
12. "We Got A Whole Lot Of Orange" - Grace Slick
13. "Volunteers" - Jefferson Airplane
14. "Breakfast In Bed For 400,000" - Wavy Gravy
15. "It Just Keeps Goin'" - John Morris
16. Max Yasgur Speaks

Disc 5
1. "Feelin' Alright" - Joe Cocker
2. "Let's Go Get Stoned" - Joe Cocker
3. "With A Little Help From My Friends" - Joe Cocker
4. The Rainstorm
5. "Rock & Soul Music" - Country Joe & The Fish
6. "Love" - Country Joe & The Fish
7. "Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine" - Country Joe & The Fish
8. "Summer Dresses" - Country Joe & The Fish
9. "Silver and Gold" - Country Joe & The Fish
10. "Rock & Soul Music" (Reprise) - Country Joe & The Fish
11. "Leland Mississippi Blues" - Johnny Winter
12. "Mean Town Blues" - Johnny Winter
13. "You've Made Me So Very Happy" - Blood Sweat & Tears

Disc 6
1. "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes" - Crosby Stills & Nash
2. "Guinnevere" - Crosby Stills & Nash
3. "Marrakesh Express" - Crosby Stills & Nash
4. "4 + 20" - Crosby Stills & Nash
5. "Sea Of Madness" - Crosby Stills Nash & Young
6. "Wooden Ships" - Crosby Stills Nash & Young
7. "No Amount Of Loving" -The Butterfield Blues Band
8. "Love March" - The Butterfield Blues Band
9. "Everything's Gonna Be Alright" - The Butterfield Blues Band
10. "Get A Job" - Sha Na Na
11. "At The Hop" - Sha Na Na
12. "Get A Job" (Reprise) - Sha Na Na
13. "The Star Spangled Banner" - Jimi Hendrix
"Purple Haze" - Jimi Hendrix
"Woodstock Improvisation" - Jimi Hendrix
14. "Woodstock Farewell" - Chip Monck

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Road to Nowhere”

Talking Heads | 1985

A cappella harmonies give way to an a fuller arrangement blending pop and electro-disco on "Road to Nowhere," but the theme remains constant: We're on an eternal journey to an undefined destination. The song vaulted back into the news a quarter century after it was a hit when Gov. Charlie Crist used it in his unsuccessful 2010 campaign for the U.S. Senate in Florida. "It's this little ditty about how there's no order and no plan and no scheme to life and death and it doesn't mean anything, but it's all right," Byrne said with a chuckle.

More Song Stories entries »