Weezer to Reissue 'Pinkerton' With New Music

Double-disc set will feature remastered album, plus b-sides, live cuts, unreleased tracks and more

September 27, 2010 5:33 PM ET

Weezer have revealed the details of the Pinkerton reissue, which is due November 2nd: The first disc will feature the remastered Pinkerton, plus the album's b-sides, radio remixes and the unreleased track "I Swear It's True." The second CD will be stocked with 16 rough and alternate versions of songs, live performances and radio sessions recorded throughout the Pinkerton tour, plus four unreleased tracks.

The liner notes will explain how one of the those previously unheard tracks, "Tragic Girl," was an undocumented, last-minute recording from the Pinkerton sessions, and thus forgotten for over a decade. Two of the other unreleased tracks, "You Won't Get With Me Tonight" and "Long Time Sunshine," were part of the scrapped Songs from the Black Hole space opera Rivers Cuomo initially planned as Weezer's second album.

Related: Weezer

Pinkerton Deluxe Edition Track List
Original Album:
1. "Tired Of Sex"
2. "Getchoo"
3. "No Other One"
4. "Why Bother?"
5. "Across The Sea"
6. "The Good Life"
7. "El Scorcho"
8. "Pink Triangle"
9. "Falling For You"
10. "Butterfly"

B-Sides and More:
11. "You Gave Your Love To Me Softly"
12. "Devotion"
13. "The Good Life (Radio Remix)"
14. "Waiting On You"
15. "I Just Threw Out The Love Of My Dreams"
16. "The Good Life (Live and Acoustic)"
17. "Pink Triangle (Radio Remix)"
18. "I Swear It's True"*
19. "Pink Triangle (Live and Acoustic)"

1. "You Won't Get With Me Tonight"*
2. "The Good Life (Live at Y100 Sonic Session)"*
3. "El Scorcho (Live at Y100 Sonic Session)"*
4. "Pink Triangle (Live at Y100 Sonic Session)"*
5. "Why Bother? (Live at Reading Festival 1996)"*
6. "El Scorcho (Live at Reading Festival 1996)"*
7. "Pink Triangle (Live at Reading Festival 1996)"*
8. "The Good Life (Live at X96)
9. "El Scorcho (Live and Acoustic)"*
10. "Across The Sea Piano Noodles"*
11. "Butterfly (Alternate Take)"*
12. "Long Time Sunshine"*
13. "Getting Up And Leaving"*
14. "Tired Of Sex (Tracking Rough)
"* 15. "Getchoo (Tracking Rough)"*
16. "Tragic Girl"*

*Previously unreleased

Keep up with rock's hottest photos in Random Notes

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Bleeding Love”

Leona Lewis | 2007

In 2008, The X Factor winner Leona Lewis backed up her U.K. singing competition victory with an R&B anthem for the ages: "Bleeding Love," an international hit that became the best-selling song of the year. The track was co-penned by OneRepublic's Ryan Tedder (whose radio dominance would continue with songs such as Beyonce's "Halo" and Adele's "Rumour Has It") and solo artist Jesse McCartney, who was inspired by a former girlfriend, Gossip Girl actress Katie Cassidy. Given the song's success, McCartney didn't regret handing over such a personal track: "No, no," he said. "I'm so happy for Leona. She deserves it. There are really no bad feelings."

More Song Stories entries »