Underworld Compile "Anthology"

Double-disc rarities set due next month

October 8, 2003 12:00 AM ET

British dance veterans Underworld will release a new two-CD compilation Anthology 1992-2002, November 18th.

Just don't call it a greatest-hits package in front of principals Karl Hyde and Rick Smith. "We look at it as a historical document," Hyde says. "It wasn't something we really wanted to do, but our label convinced us by putting together a collection of things, which really got us quite intrigued."

The two-CD set features unreleased tracks including "Big Mouth" and "Dirty" as well as "8 Ball," a song previously only available on the soundtrack to the The Beach. Also included are dance floor favorites "Cowgirl," "Two Months Off," and "Rez." Classic "Born Slippy" with its "Shouting 'Lager! Lager! Lager!'" chorus, will be turned into a single for the release. The song received video treatment from Trainspotting director Danny Boyle. "One of the ideas he came up with was to cut the whole of Trainspotting into three and a half minutes," says Hyde. "It's really intense."

"Born Slippy" also gets remixed once by Paul Oakenfold and a couple times by Underworld's Smith. "Besides Paul's, his remixes were the ones I really liked," Hyde says of his bandmate. "His inspired approach to 'Born Slippy' has got me really fired up about making another record."

Underworld is currently working on the follow up to 2002's A Hundred Days Off at home in England. "We've been working on our Powerbooks since before Christmas," Hyde says. "Now that the touring is almost finished, we've finally been able to get together in the studio and go through that material and start to work with it."

Anthology 1992-2002 track list:

Disc One:

Mmm Skyscraper I Love You
Dirty Epic
Dark and Long (Dark Train)

Disc Two:

Born Slippy (Nuxx)
Pearls Girl
Push Upstairs
King of Snake
8 Ball
Two Months Off

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


The Commodores | 1984

The year after soul legends Marvin Gaye and Jackie Wilson died, songwriter Dennis Lambert asked members of the Commodores to give him a tape of ideas. "And the one from Walter Orange has this wonderful bass line," said co-writer Franne Golde. "Plus the lyric, 'Marvin, he was a friend of mine' ... Within 10 minutes, we had decided it should be something like a modern R&B version of 'Rock 'n' Roll Heaven,' and I just said, 'Nightshift.'" This tribute to the recently deceased musicians was the band's only hit without Lionel Richie, who had left for a solo career.

More Song Stories entries »