U2 Reveal "No Line on the Horizon" Track List, Album Cover

January 16, 2009 8:54 AM ET

U2 have revealed the album cover and track listing for their upcoming LP No Line on the Horizon, due out March 3rd. The album's first single, "Get On Your Boots," will be released February 15th as a digital download with the physical format due out the next day. Looking at the 11-song track list, we see the majority of songs we previewed in our exclusive No Line first listen. As reported in the current issue of Rolling Stone, "Get On Your Boots" is a "blazing, fuzzed-out rocker picks up where 'Vertigo' left off." The song will debut on Irish radio station 2FM at 3am EST Monday morning. Two of the songs in our preview, "Tripoli" and "Every Breaking Wave," didn't make the final track list, so they maybe have undergone a name change or they might — along with some of the other 50 to 60 songs the band recorded reemerge as B-sides for the handful of singles this album likely carries. The entire No Line on the Horizon track list is below.

And then there's the record's stunning cover. According to the band, the photograph was taken by Japanese artist Hiroshi Sugimoto and represents "an image of the sea meeting the sky." There's also an equals sign, but it doesn't actually obscure the horizon, thus No Line on the Horizon. It's only halfway through January but it's safe to assume we have an early front-runner for album cover of the year. This is the first time U2 haven't appeared on their own album cover since 1993's Zooropa.

No Line on the Horizon will be released in five different formats, as we reported here earlier. Three of the formats will be accompanied by a companion film by director-photographer Anton Corbijn entitled Linear. No Line was produced by the dream team of Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois and Steve Lillywhite, with Will.i.am helping out on the album's second song "Magnificent." Check below for the full track list.

No Line on the Horizon

1. "No Line On The Horizon"
2. "Magnificent"
3. "Moment of Surrender"
4. "Unknown Caller"
5. "I'll Go Crazy If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
6. "Get On Your Boots"
7. "Stand Up Comedy"
8. "Fez Being Born"
9. "White As Snow"
10. "Breathe"
11. "Cedars Of Lebanon"

Related Stories:

U2 Break Down No Line on the Horizon
The Rolling Stone Interview: Bono
Photo Gallery: U2

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Bleeding Love”

Leona Lewis | 2007

In 2008, The X Factor winner Leona Lewis backed up her U.K. singing competition victory with an R&B anthem for the ages: "Bleeding Love," an international hit that became the best-selling song of the year. The track was co-penned by OneRepublic's Ryan Tedder (whose radio dominance would continue with songs such as Beyonce's "Halo" and Adele's "Rumour Has It") and solo artist Jesse McCartney, who was inspired by a former girlfriend, Gossip Girl actress Katie Cassidy. Given the song's success, McCartney didn't regret handing over such a personal track: "No, no," he said. "I'm so happy for Leona. She deserves it. There are really no bad feelings."

More Song Stories entries »