Timbaland, Fergie, Gwen Stefani Win Top Honors at ASCAP Awards

April 10, 2008 10:40 AM ET

The 25th Annual ASCAP Pop Awards were held last night at Hollywood's Kodak Theatre. Timbaland received the organization's top pop award, Songwriter of the Year, while Gwen Stefani's "The Sweet Escape" and Fergie's "Big Girls Don't Cry" tied for Song of the Year. Despite all the tumult since their takeover, EMI Music Publishing managed to take home Publisher of the Year. Other artists winning assorted awards were Justin Timberlake, Akon, The-Dream, Ludacris and Nelly Furtado. Additionally, Steve Miller and Lionel Richie were given Golden Note Awards for lifetime achievement. Quincy Jones was on hand to honor Richie, while Les Paul honored Miller via video. Finally, Sara Bareilles took home the Vanguard Award for "helping shape the future of American music."

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


Lou Reed | 1972

Opening Lou Reed's 1972 solo album, the hard-riffing "Vicious" actually traces its origin back to Reed's days with the Velvet Underground. Picking up bits and pieces of songs from the people and places around him, and filing his notes for later use, Reed said it was Andy Warhol who provided fuel for the song. "He said, 'Why don't you write a song called 'Vicious,'" Reed told Rolling Stone in 1989. "And I said, 'What kind of vicious?' 'Oh, you know, vicious like I hit you with a flower.' And I wrote it down literally."

More Song Stories entries »