Tiësto Announces First Album in Five Years, Premieres 'Wasted' Video

"The whole album is really the culmination of over two years work," the DJ tells Rolling Stone

Jeff Lombardo/Getty Images
April 25, 2014 9:00 AM ET

In the five years since his last studio album, Kaleidoscope, Tiësto has released three volumes of Club Life mixes and played countless festivals and clubs while the scope of dance music continued to grow before him. "The big dance music explosion was just about to happen, so the ideas and sounds on there come from what seems like a different time and place," the DJ tells Rolling Stone of his previous LP. "So much has happened for dance music in such a short amount of time so it now seems like the perfect time for me to revisit the idea of an artist album." The DJ/producer is set to release his new album A Town Called Paradise June 16th via Casablanca Records.

All-access Tiësto photos from the road

Answering questions over e-mail, Tiësto explained that the album's title and sound were both influenced by Las Vegas, the city where he holds residencies at both Hakkasan and Wet Republic. "When I really look at it, it’s like this oasis of entertainment right in the middle of the desert, so to me, 'A Town Called Paradise' is a good way to describe Las Vegas," he explains. "It’s been a very special place to me and has influenced the creation of this album."

Below, find both the full track list, which includes features from artists such as Icona Pop, Krewella and Hardwell, and the exclusive music video for "Wasted," the album's Matthew Koma–featuring second single.

1. "Red Lights"
2. "Footprints" (feat. Cruickshank)
3. "Light Years Away" (feat. DBX)
4. "A Town Called Paradise" (feat. Zac Barnett from American Authors)
5. "Written In Reverse" (feat. Matthew Koma) (with Hardwell)
6. "Echoes" (feat. Andreas Moe)
7. "Last Train" (feat. Ladyhawke) (with Firebeatz)
8. "Wasted" (feat. Matthew Koma)
9. "Let’s Go" (feat. Icona Pop)
10. "The Feeling" (feat. Ou Est Le Swimming Pool)
11. "Shimmer" (feat. Christian Burns)
12. "Rocky" (with Kaaze)
13. "Close to Me" (feat. Quilla) (with Sultan & Shepard)
14. "Set Yourself Free" (feat. Krewella)

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


The Pack | 2006

Berkeley, California rappers the Pack made their footwear choice clear in 2006 with the song "Vans." The track caught the attention of Too $hort, who signed them to his imprint. MTV refused to play the video for the song, though, claiming it was essentially a commercial for the product. Rapper Lil' B disagreed. "I didn’t know nobody [at] Vans," he said. "I was just a rapper who wore Vans." Even without MTV's support, Lil' B recognized the impact of the track. "God blessed me with such a revolutionary song… People around my age know who really started a lot of the dressing people are into now."

More Song Stories entries »