Thurston Moore Details 'Thrashing, Blissful' New Solo LP 'The Best Day'

Former Sonic Youth frontman also shares album's distorted, psychedelic title tune

By |
Thurston Moore performs in London.
Thurston Moore performs at Field Day Festival, London, on June 7th, 2014. Andy Sheppard/Redferns/Getty Images

Thurston Moore has shared the release date and tracklist of The Best Day, his first solo album since 2010's Demolished ThoughtsThe Best Day – which finds the frontman backed by guitarist James Sedwards (Nought), Deb Googe (My Bloody Valentine) and Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth) – will be out October 21st on Matador Records.

In a statement, Moore described the album as being balanced between his "signature thrashing electric guitars" and "blissful 12-string acoustic ballads." The singer-guitarist-songwriter's most recent project was a collaborative 2013 album, Chelsea Light Moving, which followed his 2011 separation from wife/Sonic Youth bassist Kim Gordon and Sonic Youth's subsequent indefinite hiatus.

Moore also shared the first taste of the LP with "The Best Day," a hard-hitting tune built on a distorted blues-rock riff, a psychedelic guitar solo and the frontman's distinctive vocals.

The Thurston Moore Band will kick off a two-month live jaunt on August 21st with a gig at the Parades De Coura Festival in Porgual. After a string of additional festival dates, the band will play a run of shows in October, culminating with a Brooklyn performance on the 26th. Full tour dates can be found at Moore's official website. The album is available for pre-order via iTunes and Amazon.

The Best Day track list:
1. "Speak To The Wild"
2. "Forevermore"
3. "Tape"
4. "The Best Day"
5. "Detonation"
6. "Vocabularies"
7. "Grace Lake"
8. "Germs Burn"