The Black Keys Spiral Into Hypnotic New Song 'Fever'

Hear the first song off the band's eighth LP, 'Turn Blue'

The Black Keys
Alysse Gafkjen
March 24, 2014 3:00 PM ET

The Black Keys have released a slinking, hypnotic new cut "Fever," the first official song from their upcoming eighth studio album, Turn Blue, set for release on May 13th. The track, available below, finds Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney melding their tried-and-trued garage blues with a hip-shaking, psychedelic groove.

The Black Keys also offered up a few possible, somewhat cheeky, interpretations of what Turn Blue could mean in a new press release: "Suffocation, sadness, numbness from extreme cold, a Cleveland late night TV host from the 1960s named Ghoulardi (who might have inspired the man in the teaser clips) – or all of the above."

“We are always trying to push ourselves when we make a record—not repeat our previous work but not abandon it either," Carney said. "On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds. We’re excited for the world to hear Turn Blue.”

The song comes with a simple video of an animated pink and blue spiral, which also appeared as a spinning-record-as-hypnotist's-wheel in the David Lynch-ian video that Mike Tyson – of all people – tweeted alongside the text "Turn Blue" to announce the album. The creepy man in the clip – who promises, "Spin, spin, spin, around and around we go, let yourself go – if you follow me you will turn blue" – also shows up in two much shorter, though equally weird trailers for Turn Blue.

The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach picks his favorite badass guitar songs

It's been a little over two years since the Black Keys released their last record, El Camino, though the band told Rolling Stone back in September of 2012 that they'd started tinkering with ideas for a new album amidst a slew of tour dates. Turn Blue was recorded in earnest during the summer of 2013 and produced by Auerbach and Carney alongside Danger Mouse, who also helmed the group's last three records. You can currently purchase "Fever," or get it as an instant download when you pre-order the whole album over on the band's website.

"We never know what's going to happen," Auerbach told Rolling Stone about the band's recording process back in 2012. "We don't talk about it. We don't plan it. We start recording, and then all of a sudden it starts to take shape and we have an idea." He added that each Black Keys record represents "a snapshot of a moment in time. We like to let them be like that Sort of a spontaneous thing."

Turn Blue Track list

1. Weight of Love
2. In Time
3. Turn Blue
4. Fever
5. Year in Review
6. Bullet in the Brain
7. It’s Up to You Now
8. Waiting on Words
9. 10 Lovers
10. In Our Prime

11. Gotta Get Away

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Wake Up Everybody”

John Legend and the Roots | 2010

A Number One record by Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes in 1976 (a McFadden- and Whitehead-penned classic sung by Teddy Pendergrass) inspired the title and lead single from Wake Up!, John Legend's tribute album to message music. The more familiar strains of "Wake Up Everybody" also fit his agenda. "It basically sums up, in a very concise way, all the things we were thinking about when we were putting this record together in that it's about justice, doing the right thing and coming together to make the world a better place," he said. Vocalists Common and Melanie Fiona assist Legend on this mission to connect.

More Song Stories entries »