Red Hot Chili Peppers Reveal New Album Track List

Songs on 'I'm With You' include 'Brendan's Death Song' and 'Even You, Brutus?'

June 13, 2011 5:55 PM ET
Red Hot Chili Peppers Reveal New Album Track List
Photo by Clara Balzary

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced the track listing for I'm With You, the band's first studio release since 2006. The record, which will hit stores on August 30th, marks the debut of new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, who joined the band following the departure of John Frusciante and took an active role in writing the new songs.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers in Photos

"I felt like I had the experience," Klinghoffer told Rolling Stone. "There was no real adjustment. This is playing music with people I admire and who have been friends for years."

Klinghoffer's influence may have led to a somewhat darker sound for the band. The new record promises to be harder-edged than the band's previous material, and titles such as "Brendan's Death Song," "Ethiopia," "Factory of Faith" and "Even You Brutus?" seem rather glum and serious for the band that gave us "Sir Psycho Sexy" and "Party On Your Pussy."

Choose Rolling Stone's Cover: The Sheepdogs vs. Lelia Broussard. Vote Now!

Here is the complete running order of the album. Those hoping for some feel-good Chili Peppers jams can take solace in the fact that the record also includes songs titled "Dance, Dance, Dance" and "Happiness Loves Company."

1. Monarchy of Roses
2. Factory of Faith
3. Brendan’s Death Song
4. Ethiopia
5. Annie Wants a Baby
6. Look Around
7. The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie
8. Did I Let You Know
9. Goodbye Hooray
10. Happiness Loves Company
11. Police Station
12. Even You, Brutus?
13. Meet Me at the Corner
14. Dance, Dance, Dance

Exclusive: Inside the Red Hot Chili Peppers' Comeback Album

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Road to Nowhere”

Talking Heads | 1985

A cappella harmonies give way to an a fuller arrangement blending pop and electro-disco on "Road to Nowhere," but the theme remains constant: We're on an eternal journey to an undefined destination. The song vaulted back into the news a quarter century after it was a hit when Gov. Charlie Crist used it in his unsuccessful 2010 campaign for the U.S. Senate in Florida. "It's this little ditty about how there's no order and no plan and no scheme to life and death and it doesn't mean anything, but it's all right," Byrne said with a chuckle.

More Song Stories entries »