Prince Preps Funky New Disc '20Ten'

Artist will release new record with German issue of 'Rolling Stone' and British newspapers

June 29, 2010 9:28 AM ET

After unveiling the title for his new album on his shirt at the BET Awards on June 27th, Prince has announced that he will release his new record, titled 20Ten, on July 22. The album — his follow-up to 2009's triple disc Lotusflow3er — will be included as an add-on to a German issue of Rolling Stone, which will also feature an interview with Prince. (Check out the album artwork at left.) While no plans for a U.S. release have been announced yet, Prince has also joined forces with three other European newspapers (England's Daily Mirror, Scotland's Daily Record and Belgium's Het Nieuwsblad) to release the album on July 10. This marks the second time Prince has put out new music as a newspaper add-on: in July 2007, the artist released the album Planet Earth with Britain's Mail on Sunday.

20Ten will boast guest appearances by saxophonist Maceo Parker and singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield and Elisa Dease. Prince wrote, produced and recorded the album, which is described as having "strong funk and new wave elements," at his own Paisley Park studios in Minnesota. Prince will follow the release of 20Ten with a European tour.

While Prince hasn't announced how 20Ten will be released in America, the fansite Dr. Funkenberry reports that Prince recently held meetings with Warner Bros. to plot out how his new album will be distributed in the States. As Rolling Stone previously reported, Prince last teamed with the retailer Target for the exclusive release of the triple-disc Lotusflow3r package, which also included his funk-heavy album MPLSound. A tracklisting for 20Ten is below:

1. "Compassion"
2. "Endlessly Beginning"
3. "Future Soul Song"
4. "Sticky Like Glue"
5. "Lavaux"
6. "Act Of God"
7. "Walk In Sand"
8. "Sea Of Everything"
9. "Everybody Loves Me"
10. "Untitled Bonus Track"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Money For Nothing”

Dire Straits | 1984

Mark Knopfler wrote this song with Sting, and it wasn’t without controversy. The Dire Straits frontman's original lyric used the word “faggot” to describe a singer who got their “money for nothing and their chicks for free.” Even though the slur was edited out in many versions, the band, and Knopfler, still took plenty of criticism for the term. “I got an objection from the editor of a gay newspaper in London--he actually said it was below the belt,” Knopfler told Rolling Stone. Still, "Money For Nothing," undoubtedly augmented by its innovative early computer-animated video, stayed at Number One for three weeks.

More Song Stories entries »