Pearl Jam Reveal "Backspacer" Track List, Pre-Order Details

July 15, 2009 3:58 PM ET

Pearl Jam revealed the pre-order details and track listing for their upcoming album Backspacer on their official Website today. The LP is available in two formats through the band's Website, as both a "Ten Club/Indie Package" CD (similar to the packaging of their last self-titled album, or Avocado as the site calls it) and 180-gram vinyl featuring a 24-page booklet featuring original art by cartoonist Tom Tomorrow. Some perspective artwork — including the cover that Conan O'Brien quickly flashed when Pearl Jam played the debut episode of The Tonight Show — is up on the Pearl Jam site now with the disclaimer "Not Actual Release Artwork." As Rock Daily previously reported, Backspacer is out September 20th.

Fans can also order a 7'' white vinyl of Backspacer's first single "The Fixer," which debuted in an excerpted form last night during the Major League Baseball All-Star game. While the single will be released to digital services and radio on July 20th, the 7'', backed by Backspacer track "Supersonic," won't be sent out until August 24th. As for the Backspacer track list, there's 11 songs on there, including "Got Some," which the band debuted when they performed on The Tonight Show.

Rock Daily reported last month that even though Pearl Jam granted the retail exclusive for Backspacer to Target, the band's own Ten Club and independent music stores will also distribute the band's ninth studio album. Last week, Pearl Jam announced their opening slate of tour dates to support Backspacer, which was named after the sea turtle the band sponsored in the Great Turtle Race.

1. "Gonna See My Friend"
2. "Got Some"
3. "The Fixer"
4. "Johnny Guitar"
5. "Just Breathe"
6. "Amongst The Waves"
7. "Unthought Known"
8. "Supersonic"
9. "Speed Of Sound"
10. "Force Of Nature"
11. "The End"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Party Rock Anthem”

LMFAO | 2011

This electro-pop uncle-nephew duo burst onto the scene with 2009’s "Shots," a song about getting totally obliterated. Two years afterward, they were still shamelessly getting wild but now insisting that everyone else join them in the fun. "I wanted a song for when we walked into a party, so I thought, 'Party rock in the house tonight/Everybody just have a good time,'" Redfoo (a.k.a. Stefan Gordy, son of Motown founder Berry Gordy) told Rolling Stone about the lyrics to "Party Rock Anthem." "The 'just' was key. I made it a command to focus people on what to do now that we’re here together."

More Song Stories entries »