Paramore Announce "Brand New Eyes" Out September 29th

June 26, 2009 4:36 PM ET

Paramore revealed today on their official Website that their brand new album Brand New Eyes will be released on September 29th. As Rock Daily previously reported, Hayley Williams and Co. worked with American Idiot producer Rob Cavallo on the new disc. "We made a record that is exactly what we set out to make," Williams said of the follow-up to their smash Riot! on the band's LiveJournal page back in April. "There's fast, there's slow, and in between… happy, angry, desperate and over it. And I can't believe it’s real." The album's cover art, featuring a dismembered butterfly, is also posted on the band's official site.

First single "Ignorance" is out July 7th, but those Web-savvy Paramore fans have already found a 30-second preview of the track — and the single's cover art — over at Amazon.com. July 7th is also the first day fans can begin pre-ordering the album and get the "Ignorance" ringtone.

"Ignorance" is a fitting title for the album's first single, as Williams told Rolling Stone in December, "I have a lot to say this time around, and there’s a lot of things I thought I knew that I was absolutely wrong about." So, after pleading "Ignorance," Williams is now seeing everything with Brand New Eyes. The 11-song track list is right here:

1. "Careful"
2. "Ignorance"
3. "Playing God"
4. "Brick by Boring Brick"
5. "Turn It Off"
6. "The Only Exception"
7. "Feeling Sorry"
8. "Looking Up"
9. "Where the Lines Overlap"
10. "Misguided Ghosts"
11. "All I Wanted"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“American Girl”

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers | 1976

It turns out that a single with "American" in its title--recorded on the Fourth of July during the nation's Bicentennial, no less--can actually sell better in Britain. Coupled with the Heartbreakers' flair for Byrds jangle and Animals hooks, though, is Tom Petty's native-Florida drawl that keeps this classic grounded at home. Petty dispelled rumors that the song was about a suicidal student, explaining that the inspiration came from when he was 25 and used to salute the highway traffic outside his apartment window. "It sounded like the ocean to me," he recalled. "That was my ocean. My Malibu. Where I heard the waves crash, but it was just the cars going by."

More Song Stories entries »