Oberst, Jim James and M. Ward Form Monsters Of Folk Supergroup

June 12, 2009 3:33 PM ET

When Jim James, M. Ward, Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis hit the road together in 2004 under the banner "An Evening With: Bright Eyes, Jim James and M. Ward," insiders referred to the tour as "Monsters of Folk." The name stuck, and now the quartet have announced an official release under the moniker: their self-titled album is due September 22nd.

The My Morning Jacket, She & Him and Bright Eyes members carved out time in Malibu and Omaha studios and spent two years working sessions into their already packed schedules; Mogis produced the album. The band's reps promise an LP of road-worn, sun-soaked fables with brilliant choruses and some electronic elements.

Oberst is also the subject of a profile in the new issue of Rolling Stone, in which Conor talks spirituality, Leonard Cohen and retiring the Bright Eyes moniker to hit the road with the Mystic Valley Band. As for Monsters of Folk. check out the track list below:

Monsters of Folk
1. "Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)"
2. "Say Please"
3. "Whole Lotta Losin'"
4. "Temazcal"
5. "The Right Place"
6. "Baby Boomer"
7. "Man Named Truth"
8. "Goodway"
9. "Ahead of the Curve"
10. "Slow Down Jo"
11. "Losin Yo Head"
12. "Magic Marker"
13. "Map Of The World"
14. "The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me"
15. "His Master's Voice"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“American Girl”

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers | 1976

It turns out that a single with "American" in its title--recorded on the Fourth of July during the nation's Bicentennial, no less--can actually sell better in Britain. Coupled with the Heartbreakers' flair for Byrds jangle and Animals hooks, though, is Tom Petty's native-Florida drawl that keeps this classic grounded at home. Petty dispelled rumors that the song was about a suicidal student, explaining that the inspiration came from when he was 25 and used to salute the highway traffic outside his apartment window. "It sounded like the ocean to me," he recalled. "That was my ocean. My Malibu. Where I heard the waves crash, but it was just the cars going by."

More Song Stories entries »