Nirvana's 1992 Reading Set Debuting as CD/DVD in November

August 28, 2009 4:58 PM ET

Nirvana's storied August 30, 1992, headlining set at England's Reading Festival will hit stores on November 3rd as a limited-edition CD+DVD deluxe edition — the same day a reissue of their debut Bleach is released. A double-LP version of the set arrives on November 17th. The DVD consists of remastered footage shot of Nirvana's epic performance, and the original film has also been color-corrected, making the picture damn near pristine. Only two of the 25 performances on the disc have ever been released officially.

The highlight of the show was a performance of nearly all the songs on the band's 1991 breakout album, Nevermind. The concert also contains what, at the time, were three unreleased In Utero tracks: "All Apologies," "Dumb," and, in its first-ever public performance, "Tourette's." Nirvana also reached back to their Sub Pop days, delivering songs like "Blew," "About a Girl," and "Negative Creep," as well as the band's first single, "Love Buzz."

During their Reading appearance, Nirvana also tackled songs that would later appear on Incesticide, like "Aneurysm," "Been A Son" and "Sliver," plus two covers, Fang's "The Money Will Roll Right In" and the Wipers' "D-7."

News of the release follows on the heels of yesterday's announcement that Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain would be brought back to pixilated life as a playable character in Activision's forthcoming Guitar Hero 5 game, due in stores September 1st. Other game characters include Carlos Santana, the late Johnny Cash, Shirley Manson of Garbage and Muse's Matt Bellamy.

Full track list for Nirvana Live at Reading DVD:

1. "Breed"
2. "Drain You"
3. "Aneurysm"
4. "School"
5. "Sliver"
6. "In Bloom"
7. "Come As You Are"
8. "Lithium"
9. "About A Girl"
10. "Tourette's"
11. "Polly"
12. "Lounge Act"
13. "Smells Like Teen Spirit"
14. "On A Plain"
15. "Negative Creep"
16. "Been A Son"
17. "All Apologies"
18. "Blew"
19. "Dumb"
20. "Stay Away"
21. "Spank Thru"
22. "Love Buzz"
23. "The Money Will Roll Right In"
24. "D-7"
25. "Territorial Pissings"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


The Pack | 2006

Berkeley, California rappers the Pack made their footwear choice clear in 2006 with the song "Vans." The track caught the attention of Too $hort, who signed them to his imprint. MTV refused to play the video for the song, though, claiming it was essentially a commercial for the product. Rapper Lil' B disagreed. "I didn’t know nobody [at] Vans," he said. "I was just a rapper who wore Vans." Even without MTV's support, Lil' B recognized the impact of the track. "God blessed me with such a revolutionary song… People around my age know who really started a lot of the dressing people are into now."

More Song Stories entries »