Morrissey Reveals 'World Peace Is None of Your Business' Track List

New album has been confirmed for a July release

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images
April 12, 2014 7:41 PM ET

Morrissey has revealed the track list for World Peace Is None of Your Business, and the contents are as entertainingly caustic as the title.

The singer spread the word through the online Morrissey zine True To You this week, along with the news that the album has been confirmed for a July release on the Harvest label through the Capitol Music Group.

15 Revealing Quotes from Morrissey's 'Autobiography'

The opening track on the 12-song list bears the album's title, and the rest continue in the same High Morrissey fashion. There's "Neal Cassady Drops Dead," "Earth Is the Loneliest Planet," "Smiler With Knife" and "Kick the Bride Down the Aisle." The album closes with the intriguing-sounding "Oboe Concerto."

In an interview with Billboard in February, Morrissey spoke about how events of the past few years influenced the new album: "The good and the bad must be documented. Life is a serious business, so why pretend it isn't?" he said. "I'm amused by modern pop artists who can only sing about s.e.x ... as if nothing else mattered on the planet."

True To You reported in March that Morrissey was "beyond ecstatic" about the record, which was produced by Joe Chiccarelli and features many of the same musicians that worked with Morrissey on his last album, 2009's Years of Refusal.

Here's the full track list for World Peace Is None of Your Business:

1. "World Peace Is None Of Your Business"
2. "Neal Cassady Drops Dead"
3. "Istanbul"
4. "I'm Not A Man"
5. "Earth Is The Loneliest Planet"
6. "Staircase At The University"
7. "The Bullfighter Dies"
8. "Kiss Me A Lot"
9. "Smiler With A Knife:
10. "Kick The Bride Down The Aisle"
11. "Mountjoy"
12. "Oboe Concerto" 

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


The Commodores | 1984

The year after soul legends Marvin Gaye and Jackie Wilson died, songwriter Dennis Lambert asked members of the Commodores to give him a tape of ideas. "And the one from Walter Orange has this wonderful bass line," said co-writer Franne Golde. "Plus the lyric, 'Marvin, he was a friend of mine' ... Within 10 minutes, we had decided it should be something like a modern R&B version of 'Rock 'n' Roll Heaven,' and I just said, 'Nightshift.'" This tribute to the recently deceased musicians was the band's only hit without Lionel Richie, who had left for a solo career.

More Song Stories entries »