'Metallica Through the Never' Soundtrack Album Due This Fall

Two-disc set will feature 16 songs from the metal band's movie

James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich and Kirk Hammett of Metallica perform in Detroit, Michigan.
Theo Wargo/Getty Images
July 29, 2013 2:25 PM ET

Metallica will release a soundtrack this fall to their upcoming film Metallica Through the Never. The two-disc set, due out on September 24th, highlights the band's time at Rexall Place in Edmonton, Alberta; and Rogers Arena in Vancouver, where the group filmed performance footage for the movie.

"Let's hear it for the old-school soundtrack!" Lars Ulrich said in a press release. "Not only are we beyond psyched about our movie coming your way shortly, but the fact that we get to share the music directly in all these formats is way fuckin' cool."

100 Greatest Artists: Metallica

The soundtrack will feature 16 songs including "For Whom the Bell Tolls" and "Master of Puppets," in addtion to newer songs. 

The film combines live concert footage alongside the narrative of a roadie's experience during an arena show, and was shot using up to 24 cameras simultaneously to produce 3D effects. 

The soundtrack will be available for pre-order here starting at midnight. Metallica Through the Never will hit IMAX theaters on September 27th. 

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Money For Nothing”

Dire Straits | 1984

Mark Knopfler wrote this song with Sting, and it wasn’t without controversy. The Dire Straits frontman's original lyric used the word “faggot” to describe a singer who got their “money for nothing and their chicks for free.” Even though the slur was edited out in many versions, the band, and Knopfler, still took plenty of criticism for the term. “I got an objection from the editor of a gay newspaper in London--he actually said it was below the belt,” Knopfler told Rolling Stone. Still, "Money For Nothing," undoubtedly augmented by its innovative early computer-animated video, stayed at Number One for three weeks.

More Song Stories entries »