Metallica Announce New Live EP

The band draws on bootleg recordings for an eight-song disc, 'Six Feet Down Under,' out September 20th

September 10, 2010 5:36 PM ET

To celebrate the arrival of their World Magnetic Tour in Australia and New Zealand next week, Metallica will release a new limited edition EP called Six Feet Down Under, featuring eight live performances recorded in Australia over the past two decades. The EP, which features tracks like "The Unforgiven" and "…And Justice For All," will be sold through the Metallica website starting September 20th.

Metallica: Three Decades of Metal Mayhem

Since Metallica didn't begin multi-track recording their concerts until 2004, right after their last tour of Australia, the band used bootlegs for the collection together. "Be gentle with us… a few of these songs are, well, we'll say 'rough,' which may be an understatement," the band wrote on their official website. "They do, however, capture the live moments and hopefully you'll have as much fun listening as we did playing on those nights."

Six Feet Down Under
1. "Eye of the Beholder" - Recorded live on May 4, 1989 at Festival Hall in Melbourne
2. "...And Justice For All" - Recorded live on May 4, 1989 at Festival Hall in Melbourne
3. "Through the Never" - Recorded live on April 8, 1993 at the Entertainment Centre in Perth
4. "The Unforgiven" - Recorded live on April 4, 1993 at the National Tennis Centre in Melbourne
5. "Low Man's Lyric (Acoustic)" - Recorded live on April 11, 1998 at the Entertainment Centre in Perth
6. "Devil's Dance" - Recorded live on April 12, 1998 at the Entertainment Centre in Perth
7. "Frantic" - Recorded live on January 21, 2004 at the Entertainment Centre in Sydney
8. "Fight Fire With Fire" - Recorded live on January 19, 2004 at the Entertainment Centre in Brisbane

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“American Girl”

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers | 1976

It turns out that a single with "American" in its title--recorded on the Fourth of July during the nation's Bicentennial, no less--can actually sell better in Britain. Coupled with the Heartbreakers' flair for Byrds jangle and Animals hooks, though, is Tom Petty's native-Florida drawl that keeps this classic grounded at home. Petty dispelled rumors that the song was about a suicidal student, explaining that the inspiration came from when he was 25 and used to salute the highway traffic outside his apartment window. "It sounded like the ocean to me," he recalled. "That was my ocean. My Malibu. Where I heard the waves crash, but it was just the cars going by."

More Song Stories entries »