Memo Indicates Adam Lambert Co-Wrote "On With the Show"

June 25, 2009 9:16 AM ET

Hi Fi Records — or somebody associated with the indie label — wants the world to believe that Adam Lambert did indeed co-write songs on the album they are releasing this summer. Yesterday a rep from the label released a statement insisting Lambert didn't just sing, but penned songs for On With the Show, a record from Lambert's pre-Idol days that will see release before his official 19 Recordings/RCA debut this fall. Now one of the company's internal memos has leaked that seems to corroborate their claim. The document appeared this morning on TMZ. Its authenticity has not yet been confirmed by anyone at the label or Lambert.

When news of On With the Show broke, Lambert released a statement that said the recordings dated back four years, and that he was simply singing other writers' songs. Hi Fi countered that Lambert co-wrote eight of the album's 11 songs with Madonna's guitarist Monte Pittman more recently. According to the new memo, Lambert co-wrote nine of the album's 11 songs, including "Crawl Thru Fire" and "15 Minutes of Fame." First single "Want," available on iTunes now, is one of two tracks Lambert didn't co-write. ("Want" and the album's title track were written solely by Michael Burtscher, the memo states.)

"As co-writer and performer, Adam will receive significant royalties just as any superstar artist would. He has the chance, finally, to make a fortune for his work — definitely more with this album than through a major label deal," Hi Fi said in a statement yesterday. Besides Pittman, On With the Show features writing by Macedonian electronic music composer Kiril Dzajkovski and Prong lead singer Tommy Victor (Pittman was once in Prong). Also, the album's closing track is called "mp3 Killed the Record Companies," which sounds interesting considering Lambert just inked his new deal with 19 Recordings/RCA.

The memo, typed on Music Publishers Company of America paper, was sent from John Titta to John Hecker. According to the MPCA Website, John Hecker is the founder/CEO of Hi Fi Recordings, who will release On With the Show with Wilshire Records. John Titta, who sent the memo, is the President/COO of Hi Fi, and the Hi Fi site adds Titta worked with Lou Reed and helped signed Pearl Jam when he worked for PolyGram Music Publishing.

On With the Show track list, per the memo:

1. "Beg For Mercy"
2. "Crawl Thru Fire"
3. "Want"
4. "Kiss and Tell"
5. "Just The Way It Is"
6. "Turning On"
7. "On With the Show"
8. "Runaway"
9. "15 Minutes of Fame"
10. "The Circle"
11. "mp3 Killed the Record Companies"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Road to Nowhere”

Talking Heads | 1985

A cappella harmonies give way to an a fuller arrangement blending pop and electro-disco on "Road to Nowhere," but the theme remains constant: We're on an eternal journey to an undefined destination. The song vaulted back into the news a quarter century after it was a hit when Gov. Charlie Crist used it in his unsuccessful 2010 campaign for the U.S. Senate in Florida. "It's this little ditty about how there's no order and no plan and no scheme to life and death and it doesn't mean anything, but it's all right," Byrne said with a chuckle.

More Song Stories entries »