Kristin Hersh Focusing On "Special" Solo Material

January 16, 1998 12:00 AM ET

With a solo album titled Strange Angels coming out on Feb. 3 in the United States, singer Kristin Hersh is already getting set to head back into the studio to record another solo album.

Hersh has long wanted to make a "bare-bones, intimate recording of the songs she loved as a child," according to her official website, Throwing Music. Having been weaned on Depression-era Appalachian folk songs, Hersh will most likely focus on darker images for these songs.

Hersh and her former band, Throwing Muses, who officially broke up last August, had long-been hailed for their creativity and originality especially on albums like Throwing Muses (1986), Real Ramona (1991) and University (1995). Now, with this forthcoming solo project, Hersh will reportedly delve deep into her past, making the album a very personal experience.

As of now, there is no release date set for the new project. However, a spokeswoman from Rykodisc, Hersh's label, said the singer will be heading out on a nationwide tour starting in early April in support of Strange Angels. Stay tuned to JAMTV for breaking information. (Ari Bendersky)

Track listing for Strange Angels:

  1. Home
  2. Like You
  3. Aching For You
  4. Cold Water Coming
  5. Some Catch Flies
  6. Stained
  7. Shake
  8. Hope
  9. Pale
  10. Baseball Field
  11. Heaven
  12. Gazebo Tree
  13. Gut Pageant
  14. Rock Candy Brains
  15. Cartoons

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Love Is the Answer”

Utopia | 1977

The message of the Beatles' "All You Need Is Love" proved to be a universal and long-lasting one, which Utopia revisited 10 years later on this ballad. "From a lyrical standpoint, it's part of a whole class of songs that I write, which are about filial love," Todd Rundgren explained. "I'm not a Christian, but it's called Christian love, the love that people are supposed to naturally feel because we are all of the same species. That may be mythical, but it's still a subject." Though "Love Is the Answer" wasn't a hit, a cover version two years later by England Dan & John Ford Coley peaked at Number Ten on the Billboard singles chart.

More Song Stories entries »