Jay-Z's "Blueprint 3 " Track List Features Alicia Keys, Young Jeezy

August 19, 2009 9:25 AM ET

With less than a month until the release of Jay-Z's The Blueprint 3, Jigga has revealed the track list for his highly anticipated album on his official Website. Of the record's 15 tracks, only three songs find Jay-Z going it solo — the rest boast a kind of hip-hop all-star team. In addition to contributions from Kanye West and Rihanna on "Run This Town" and the previously reported collaborations with Drake, Kid Cudi and Mr Hudson, The Blueprint 3 will also feature appearances from Alicia Keyes, Young Jeezy, Swizz Beatz and Pharrell. Kanye, who served as producer for a bulk of the tracks on BP3, will also appear on the track "Hate."

Noticeably absent from the features listed on the Blueprint 3 track list are MGMT, who Jay-Z had previously said would be contributing to a song on BP3. (They still might serve as producers on one of the BP3 tracks.) Another notable name that has disappeared from the unconfirmed track list from June is Nas, who was rumored to feature on the track "Empire State of Mind." The song remains on the album, only now it stars Alicia Keys. Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun, whose debut was one of our favorite albums from last year, appears on opener "What We Talkin' About."

As Rock Daily previously reported, Jay-Z will perform one of Blueprint 3's 15 tracks at this year's MTV Video Music Awards on September 13th. The following day, Jay-Z will jump from New York to Los Angeles to perform "Run This Town" on the debut episode of The Jay Leno Show with Rihanna and Kanye West. And of course, The Blueprint 3 is out on September 11th, exactly eight years after the release of the original Blueprint.

Check out the BP3 track list below:

1. "What We Talkin' About" (featuring Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun)
2. "Thank You"
3. "D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)"
4. "Run This Town" (featuring Kanye West and Rihanna)
5. "Empire State of Mind" (featuring Alicia Keys)
6. "Real As it Gets" (featuring Young Jeezy)
7. "On to the Next One" (featuring Swizz Beatz)
8. "Off That" (featuring Drake)
9. "A Star is Born" (featuring J. Cole)
10. "Venus vs. Mars"
11. "Already Home" (featuring Kid Cudi)
12. "Hate" (featuring Kanye West)
13. "Reminder"
14. "So Ambitious" (featuring Pharrell)
15. "Young Forever" (featuring Mr Hudson)

Related Stories:
Jay-Z Talks "Blueprint 3" Album Cover: "It's Still About Music"
Jay-Z Celebrates Live Instruments on "Blueprint 3" Album Cover
Jay-Z, Kanye, Rihanna to "Run This Town" On "Leno Show" Premiere

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Bird on a Wire”

Leonard Cohen | 1969

While living on the Greek island of Hydra, Cohen was battling a lingering depression when his girlfriend handed him a guitar and suggested he play something. After spotting a bird on a telephone wire, Cohen wrote this prayer-like song of guilt. First recorded by Judy Collins, it would be performed numerous times by artists incuding Johnny Cash, Joe Cocker and Rita Coolidge. "I'm always knocked out when I hear my songs covered or used in some situation," Cohen told Rolling Stone. "I've never gotten over the fact that people out there like my music."

More Song Stories entries »