Jay-Z Reveals 'Magna Carta' Track List Through Scavenger Hunt

Rapper sends fans on a quest through Brooklyn

Jay-Z performs at the So So Def 20th anniversary concert at the Fox Theater on February 23rd, 2013 in Atlanta, Georgia.
Prince Williams/Getty
June 23, 2013 10:29 AM ET

Jay-Z involved his fans in a heroic quest on Saturday, sending them out on a scavenger hunt whose reward turned out to be the track listing for his forthcoming new album, Magna Carta Holy Grail.

Billboard reports that Jay-Z publicist Jana Fleishman tweeted out a series of photos and clues yesterday, and fans who guessed the location found her waiting with books containing the song titles. The prizes in Saturday's scavenger hunt revealed only the song titles, however, with no information about collaborators.

Summer Tour Preview 2013: Justin Timberlake and Jay-Z

The new information comes less than a week after the rapper announced his new album through a Samsung commercial aired during Game 5 of the NBA finals. The album will be available for free to Samsung users on July 4th and will be released to the public 72 hours later. 

Magna Carta Holy Grail Track List

1. Picasso Baby
2. Heaven
3. Versus
4. Tom Ford
5. Beach Is Better
6. FuckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt
7. Oceans
8. F.U.T.W.
09. Part II (On The Run)
10. BBC
11. La Familia
12. Jay-Z Blue
13. Nickles & Dimes
14. Holy Grail (Bonus Track)
15. Open Letter (Bonus Track)

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


Tune-Yards | 2011

The opening track to Merrill Garbus’ second album under the Tune-Yards banner (she also plays in the trio Sister Suvi), “Bizness” is a song about relationships that is as colorful as the face paint favored by Garbus both live and in her videos. Disjointed funk bass, skittering African beats, diced-and-sliced horns and Garbus’ dynamic voice, which ranges from playful coos to throat-shredding howls, make “Bizness” reminiscent of another creative medium. “I'd like for them not to be songs as much as quilts or collages or something,” Garbus said.

More Song Stories entries »