James Taylor to Release "Covers" Album

August 5, 2008 10:50 AM ET

James Taylor will release an album of covers, mysteriously titled Covers, on September 30th via Hear Music. Taylor will perform renditions of songs that span several decades, including a pair of Leiber-Stoller tunes ("Hound Dog" and "On Broadway"), Leonard Cohen's "Suzanne" and even the Dixie Chicks' version of "Some Days You Gotta Dance." "An album of other peoples' music is something I've been wanting to do for years," says Taylor. "I've enjoyed performing these songs over the years but to record them live in a room with these incredible musicians was just extraordinary." Taylor and his Band of Legends gathered in a converted Massachusetts barn last January and recorded Covers in ten days. Follow the jump for the rest of the track list.

Track Listing:

1. "It's Growing" (William Robinson, Jr.-Warren Moore) - made popular by The Temptations
2. "(I'm A) Road Runner" (Edward Holland Jr.-Lamont Dozier-Brian Holland) - made popular by Jr. Walker & the All Stars
3. "Wichita Lineman" (Jimmy Webb) made popular by Glen Campbell
4. "Why Baby Why" (Darrell Edwards-George Jones)
5. "Some Days You Gotta Dance" (Troy Johnson-Marshall Morgan) made popular by the Dixie Chicks
6. "Seminole Wind" (John Anderson)
7. "Suzanne" (Leonard Cohen)
8. "Hound Dog" (Jerry Leiber-Mike Stoller) Big Mama Thornton inspired arrangement
9. "Sadie" (Joseph Jefferson-Charles Simmons-Bruce Hawes) - made popular by The Spinners
10. "On Broadway" (Jerry Leiber-Mike Stoller-Cynthia Weil-Barry Mann) - made popular by The Drifters
11. "Summertime Blues" (Eddie Cochran-Jerry Capehart)
12. "Not Fade Away" (Norman Petty-Buddy Holly)

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Don't Dream It's Over”

Crowded House | 1986

Early in the sessions for Crowded House's debut album, the band and producer Mitchell Froom were still feeling each other out, and at one point Froom substituted session musicians for the band's Paul Hester and Nick Seymour. "At the time it was a quite threatening thing," Neil Finn told Rolling Stone. "The next day we recorded 'Don't Dream It's Over,' and it had a particularly sad groove to it — I think because Paul and Nick had faced their own mortality." As for the song itself, "It was just about on the one hand feeling kind of lost, and on the other hand sort of urging myself on — don't dream it's over," Finn explained.

More Song Stories entries »