Inside Weezer's Rarities Compilation

'It's stuff that was either too poppy or too heavy metal or too weird to make it onto any of our records,' Cuomo tells 'Rolling Stone.'

October 12, 2010 4:36 PM ET

Weezer have revealed the track list (below) and awe-inspiring cover art for their upcoming rarities collection Death to False Metal, due out November 2nd. Rolling Stone recently spoke to frontman Rivers Cuomo about the odds-and-ends collection. Death to False Metal 'is really a collection of songs that were mostly finished over the last 17 years, songs that didn't make it onto any one of our seven Geffen records. I spent two weeks in the studio adding bridges or rewriting a verse here or there, putting on some overdubs, that sort of thing — it's really fun stuff," Cuomo tells RS.

Exclusive Video: Rivers Cuomo Plays New Song Poolside in Las Vegas

While Cuomo has previously dug into the vaults for Alone: The Home Recordings of Rivers Cuomo, Death to False Metal will feature 10 completely unreleased tracks, including a cover of Tori Braxton's "Un-Break My Heart." "I like the idea of not making fans buy the same stuff more than once, so it's a totally unique record. It has stuff going all the way back to the Blue Album, and that was '93, so it's like 17 years, songs from all throughout that period. It's stuff that was either too poppy or too heavy metal or too weird to make it onto any of our records," Cuomo explains. "In some cases, we fully recorded and mixed it at a certain time and were just waiting for the right moment to put it out, and in other cases, we abandoned the recording halfway through. Now, I've figured out how to finish off the songs. I did some new writing and a bunch of new recording on it."

Inside Weezer's Exhilarating Rolling Stone Set in Las Vegas

Death to False Metal comes on the heels of Weezer"s new album Hurley, and its release will coincide with the reissue of Pinkerton. And Cuomo tells Rolling Stone that the band has already begun work on their next album. But he doesn"t much info to share on that yet: "I don't want to give you a tentative title, because people get too upset about that sort of thing," Cuomo says.

Death to False Metal Track Listing
1. "Turning Up the Radio"
2. "I Don't Want Your Loving"
3. "Blowin' My Stack"
4. "Losing My Mind"
5. "Everyone"
6. "I'm a Robot"
7. "Trampoline"
8. "Odd Couple"
9. "Autopilot"
10. "Un-Break My Heart"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


Lou Reed | 1972

Opening Lou Reed's 1972 solo album, the hard-riffing "Vicious" actually traces its origin back to Reed's days with the Velvet Underground. Picking up bits and pieces of songs from the people and places around him, and filing his notes for later use, Reed said it was Andy Warhol who provided fuel for the song. "He said, 'Why don't you write a song called 'Vicious,'" Reed told Rolling Stone in 1989. "And I said, 'What kind of vicious?' 'Oh, you know, vicious like I hit you with a flower.' And I wrote it down literally."

More Song Stories entries »