Exclusive Clip: Bjork Performs "Sonnets/Unrealities XI" From "Voltaic: The Volta Tour"

June 19, 2009 2:02 PM ET

Björk released Volta in 2007 and hit the road with a killer band that included an all-female 10-piece brass section. Now an elaborate document of the Volta tour is coming out in five different configurations (of CD, vinyl, DVD discs) on June 30th — including a live DVD filmed in Paris and Reykjavik that will be screened in select cities (see below), a DVD of all the album's music videos, a CD of Volta songs recorded live in one take at London's Olympic Studios, and a CD of remixes.

Rolling Stone has an exclusive clip from Voltaic: The Volta Tour right here. Click above to watch Björk perform "Sonnets/Unrealities XI" from her 2004 album Meulla live in Reykjavik. And keep reading for track lists for each of Voltaic's discs and screening dates and locations.

Confirmed Screenings:
June 19/20 - Anchorage, AK @ Bear Tooth Theater
June 20 - Philadelphia, PA @ 941 Theater
June 23 - New York, NY @ School of Visual Arts Theater
June 23 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Montalban Theater
June 23 - Madison, WI @ The Orpheum Stage Door
June 23-28 - Oxford, MS @ The Amp
June 23-28 - Lake Geneva, WI @ Geneva Theater
June 24 - Minneapolis, MN @ The Trylon Microcinema
June 26, 27 - Seattle, WA @ Northwest Film Forum
June 26, 27 - San Francisco, CA @ The Roxie
June 26, 27 - Bellingham, WA @ Pickford Film Center
June 26, 27 - New Orleans, LA @ Zeitgeist Arts Center
July 20 - Austin, TX @ Alamo Drafthouse Ritz


Voltaic CD 1 - CD of songs from the Volta tour performed live at Olympic Studios
1. Wanderlust - Live
2. Hunter - Live
3. Pleasure Is All Mine - Live
4. Innocence - Live
5. Army of Me - Live
6. I Miss You - Live
7. Earth intruders - Live
8. All Is Full Of Love - Live
9. Pagan Poetry - Live
10. Vertebrae by Vertebrae - Live
11. Declare Independence - Live

Voltaic DVD 1 - DVD of live concert performances
1. Brennio Pio Vitar - Live in Paris
2. Earth Intruders - Live in Paris
3. Hunter - Live in Paris
4. Immature - Live in Paris
5. Joga - Live in Paris
6. Pleasure Is All Mine - Live in Paris
7. Vertebrae by Vertebrae - Live in Paris
8. Where Is the Line - Live in Paris
9. Who Is It - Live in Paris
10. Desired Constellation - Live in Paris
11. Army of Me - Live in Paris
12. Bachelorette - Live in Paris
13. Wanderlust - Live in Paris
14. Hyperballad - Live in Paris
15. Pluto - Live in Paris
16. Declare Independence - Live in Paris
17. Pneumonia - Live in Reykjavik
18. My Juvenile - Live in Reykjavik
19. Vokuro - Live in Reykjavik
20. Sonnets / Unrealities XI - Live in Reykjavik
21. Mouths Cradle - Live in Reykjavik

Voltaic CD 2 - CD of remixes of Volta songs
1. Earth Intruders - Spank Rock remix
2. Innocence - Simian Mobile Disco remix 12"
3. Declare Independence - Mathew Herbert 12"
4. Wanderlust - Ratatat remix
5. The Dull Flame of Desire - modeselektor's RMX for girls
6. Earth Intruders - lexx remix
7. Innocence - Sinden remix
8. Declare Independence - Ghostigital in Deep End Dance remix 12"
9. The Dull Flame of Desire - Modeselektor's RMX for Boys
10. Innocence - Alva Noto Unitxt remodel 12" version
11. Declare Independence - Black Plus mix
12. Innocence - Simian Mobile Disco dub remix

Voltaic DVD 2 - DVD of the Volta videos
1. Earth Intruders
2. Declare Independence
3. Innocence - Version 1 (winner)
4. Wanderlust
5. The Dull Flame of Desire
6. Innocence - David Saghiri
7. Innocence - Dimitrio Stankowicz
8. Innocence - Etienne Strubbe
9. Innocence - Juliet Himmer
10. Innocence - Laurent Labouille
11. Innocence - Mario Caporali
12. Innocence - Miko o_o
13. Innocence - Misi Park & Pierre Khazem
14. Innocence - Christiano Leal
15. Innocence - Roland Matusek

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Hungry Like the Wolf”

Duran Duran | 1982

This indulgent New Romantic group generated their first U.S. hit with the help of what was at the time new technology. "Simon [Le Bon] and I, I think, had been out the night before and had this terrible hangover," said keyboardist Nick Rhodes. "For some reason we were feeling guilty about it and decided to go and do some work." Rhodes started playing with his Jupiter-8 synth, and then "Simon had an idea for a lyric, and by lunchtime when everyone else turned up, we pretty much had the song." The Simmons drumbeat was equally important to the sound of "Hungry Like the Wolf," as Duran Duran drummer Roger Taylor stated it "kind of defined the drum sound for the Eighties."

More Song Stories entries »