Eric Clapton Recruits Sheryl Crow, Wynton Marsalis for Eclectic New Disc

Clapton', due September 28th, mixes blues covers, brass band tracks, and new originals

August 20, 2010 8:47 AM ET

On Clapton, Eric Clapton's first solo studio album since 2005's Back Home, the guitarist collaborates with Sheryl Crow, Allen Toussaint, Wynton Marsalis, JJ Cale, Blind Faith bandmate Steve Winwood, and others on a mix of obscure country blues covers, traditional brass band tracks and new originals.

"It's an eclectic collection of songs that weren't really on the map," Clapton said in a statement. The album, co-produced by Clapton's longtime colleague Doyle Bramhall II, will be released on September 28th, with the blues-rock track "Run Back To Your Side" as the first single. Clapton has played some of the new disc's tracks, like "Rocking Chair" and "When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful," on recent tours.

Eric Clapton and Rolling Stone's 100 Greatest Guitarists.

Clapton track list:
1. "Travelin' Alone"
2. "Rocking Chair"
3. "River Runs Deep"
4. "Judgment Day"
5. "How Deep Is The Ocean"
6. "My Very Good Friend The Milkman"
7. "Can't Hold Out Much Longer"
8. "That's No Way To Get Along"
9. "Everything Will Be Alright"
10. "Diamonds Made From Rain"
11. "When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful"
12. "Hard Times Blues"
13. "Run Back To Your Side"
14. "Autumn Leaves"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“You Oughta Know”

Alanis Morissette | 1995

This blunt, bitter breakup song -- famous for its line "Would she go down on you in a theater?" -- was long rumored to be about Alanis Morissette getting dumped by Full House actor Dave Coulier. But while she never confirmed it was about him (Coulier himself says it is, however), she insisted the song wasn't all about scorn. "By no means is this record just a sexual, angry record," she told Rolling Stone. "The song wasn't written for the sake of revenge. It was written for the sake of release. I'm actually a pretty rational, calm person."

More Song Stories entries »