Doors' Final New York Concerts Emerge as Six-Disc Collection

August 27, 2009 10:03 AM ET

The Doors' final four concerts with Jim Morrison in the Big Apple will be released in their entirety November 10th in a six-disc collection called Live in New York. Nearly a third of the set's 90 tracks were previously unreleased, including performances of "Break on Through," "Soul Kitchen" and "When The Music's Over." The four shows were recorded on January 17th and 18th, 1970, with both days featuring early and late gigs at New York's Felt Forum (the adjunct venue next to Madison Square Garden now called the WaMu Theatre).

After playing Madison Square Garden in 1969, the Doors opted for the Felt Forum to showcase their then-new album Morrison Hotel. "It was more intimate, and you could feel the audience more," drummer John Densmore said in a statement. "There was more interaction, and the acoustics were much better, because it was designed for music."

Keyboardist Ray Manzarek added that the concerts were reminiscent of the Doors' small-club days in Los Angeles. "We used to do four sets a night at the London Fog, and we only had a small block of songs written up to that time. So we would do other people's material. And in New York, it was like the same thing," Manzarek said. "We've got four shows to play here, two sets tonight, two sets tomorrow night. Let's play whatever we want! Let's just go!"

In addition to the Live in New York collection, Rhino will also rerelease all of the Jim Morrison-era Doors albums on 180-gram vinyl on September 15th.

Live in New York
Disc 1
January 17, 1970 (First Show)
1. Start Of Show
2. "Roadhouse Blues"
3. "Ship Of Fools"
4. "Break On Through (To The Other Side)"
5. Tuning
6. "Peace Frog"
7. "Blue Sunday"
8. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)"
9. "Back Door Man"
10. "Love Hides"
11. "Five To One"
12. "Tuning/Breather"
13. "Who Do You Love"
14. "Little Red Rooster"
15. "Money"
16. Tuning
17. "Light My Fire"
18. More, More, More
19. "Soul Kitchen"
20. End Of Show

Disc 2
January 17, 1970 (Second Show)
1. Start Show 2
2. Jim "How Ya Doing?"
3. "Roadhouse Blues"
4. "Break On Through (To The Other Side)"
5. "Ship Of Fools"
6. "Crawling King Snake"
7. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)"
8. "Back Door Man"
9. "Five To One"
10. Pretty Neat, Pretty Good
11. "Build Me A Woman"
12. Tuning/Breather
13. "Who Do You Love"
14. Tuning/Breather
15. "Wild Child"
16. Cheering/Tuning
17. "When The Music's Over"

Disc 3
January 17, 1970 (Second Show) continued
1. Tuning/Breather
2. "Light My Fire"
3. Hey, Mr. Light Man!
4. "Soul Kitchen"
5. Jim's Fish Joke
6. "The End"
7. End Of Show

Disc 4
January 18, 1970 (Third Show)
1. Start Show 3
2. "Roadhouse Blues"
3. "Ship Of Fools"
4. "Break On Through (To The Other Side)"
5. Tuning/Breather
6. "Universal Mind"
7. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)" - False Start
8. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)"
9. "Back Door Man"
10. "Five To One"
11. Tuning/Breather
12. "Moonlight Drive"
13. "Who Do You Love"
14. Calling Out For Songs
15. "Money"
16. Tuning/Breather
17. "Light My Fire"
18. More, More More
19. "When The Music's Over"
20. Good Night - End Show

Disc 5
January 18, 1970 (Fourth Show)
1. Start Show 4
2. "Roadhouse Blues"
3. "Peace Frog"
4. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)"
5. "Back Door Man"
6. "Five To One"
7. We Have A Special Treat
8. "Celebration Of The Lizard"
9. Alright Let's Boogie
10. "Build Me A Woman"
11. "When The Music's Over"
12. More, More, More

Disc 6
January 18, 1970 (Fourth Show) continued
1. "Soul Kitchen"
2. For Fear Of Getting Too Patriotic
3. Petition The Lord With Prayer
4. "Light My Fire"
5. Only When The Moon Comes Out
6. "Close To You"
7. The Encore Begins
8. "Rock Me"
9. What To Do Next?
10. "Going To N.Y. Blues"
11. Tuning/Breather
12. "Maggie M'Gill"
13. Tuning/Breather
14. "Gloria"/End Of Show

Related Stories:
The Last Days of Jim Morrison: Rare Look Into His Journals
The Immortals - The Doors By Marilyn Manson

All Doors Album Reviews

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories


Mariah Carey | 1995

Serendipity stuck when Mariah Carey rediscovered the glitchy Tom Tom Club hook, a sample of which is the heart of this upbeat slice of dance pop. "I had the melody idea for 'Fantasy' and I was listening to the radio and heard 'Genius of Love,' and I hadn't heard it in a long time," Carey said. "It reminded me of growing up and listening to the radio and that feeling the song gave me seemed to go with the melody and basic idea I had for 'Fantasy.' I initially told [co-writer] Dave Hall about the idea, and we did it. We called up the Tom Tom Club and they were really into it."

More Song Stories entries »