Deluxe Treatment for Bowie Classic 'Station to Station'

September 20th set features live performances from 1976 New York show

July 2, 2010 12:46 PM ET

The reissue of David Bowie's 1976 masterpiece Station to Station — one of Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time — is even more comprehensive than fans could have possibly hoped. The set, due September 20th, will be available in both Special and Deluxe editions. The Special Edition provides a new transfer of Station to Station from the original stereo analog master, plus adds two live discs from Bowie's March 23rd, 1976 concert at New York's Nassau Coliseum. The reissue also restores the album's original artwork, and includes a digital download of an unedited alternative mix of the Aladdin Sane fan favorite "Panic in Detroit" that clocks in at over 13 minutes, nearly triple the length of the original version.

From alien to art-rocker, photos of David Bowie through the years.

The Deluxe version, housed in a 12" box, features the 1985 mix of Station to Station, an additional CD with five single edits of the S2S tracks, a DVD of four different mixes of the album, plus both Station to Station and Live Nassau Coliseum '76 on vinyl. There's also a 24-page book with notes by Cameron Crowe, unreleased photographs from the era, replica versions of both Bowie's 1976 Tour press kit and the Fan Club Folder and more. For all the details, check out Bowie's official site.

The Station to Station reissue might be the only release fans will receive from Bowie for the foreseeable future. As Rolling Stone recently reported, Bowie seems to have no plans to record new music or head out on tour since going on hiatus six years ago. Rumors of Bowie working on a new disc, his first since 2003's Reality, were denied by Bowie's rep.

CD 1: 2010 transfer of Station To Station from the original stereo analog master in mini replica sleeve:
1. "Station To Station"
2. "Golden Years"
3. "Word On A Wing"
4. "TVC15"
5. "Stay"
6. "Wild Is The Wind"

CDs 2 & 3: Live Nassau Coliseum '76 (Recorded live at the Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY, USA. March 23rd, 1976) in gatefold CD wallet:
1. "Station To Station"
2. "Suffragette City"
3. "Fame"
4. "Word On A Wing"
5. "Stay"
6. "Waiting For The Man"
7. "Queen Bitch"

Nassau Coliseum concert continued:
1. "Life On Mars?"
2. "Five Years"
3. "Panic In Detroit"
4. "Changes"
5. "TVC15"
6. "Diamond Dogs"
7. "Rebel Rebel"
8. "The Jean Genie"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Long Walk Home”

Bruce Springsteen | 2007

When the subject of this mournful song returns home, he hardly recognizes his town. Springsteen told Rolling Stone the alienation the man feels is a metaphor for life in a politically altered post-9/11 America. “Who would have ever thought we’d live in a country without habeas corpus?” he said. “That’s Orwellian. That’s what political hysteria is about and how effective it is. I felt it in myself. You get frightened for your family, for your home. And you realize how countries can move way off course, very far from democratic ideals.”

More Song Stories entries »