Das Racist Reveal Details of Debut Album

'Relax' will feature collaborations with Diplo, El-P and members of Vampire Weekend and Yeasayer

July 8, 2011 3:50 PM ET
New Album Das Racist Himanshu "Heems" Suri, Ashok "Dapwell" Kondabolu, Victor "Kool A.D." Vazquez of Das Racist
Himanshu "Heems" Suri, Ashok "Dapwell" Kondabolu, Victor "Kool A.D." Vazquez of Das Racist
Brayden Olson

Mischievous Brooklyn rappers Das Racist have announced that they will finally release a proper album, titled Relax, on September 13th. The trio, who put out two highly acclaimed mixtapes, Shut Up, Dude and Sit Down, Man, last year, will release their debut on Greedhead Music, a label imprint run by Das Racist member Himanshu Suri.

Relax will feature collaborations with Diplo, Vampire Weekend's Rostam Batmanglij, Yeasayer's Anand Wilder, El-P and Drake songwriter Francis Farewell Starlite. (As it turns out, they were just kidding about working with Brian Eno.) In addition to several new tunes, the set will feature a few old favorites such as the single "Rainbow in the Dark" and "Shut Up, Man," their team-up with El-P.

You can check out the full track listing for Relax below.

"Michael Jackson"
"Brand New Dance"
"Middle of the Cake"
"Shut Up, Man"
"Happy Rappy"
"Booty in the Air"
"Punjabi Song"
"Rainbow in the Dark"
"The Trick"

Trickster Rappers Das Racist Joke Around Backstage at SXSW

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Bird on a Wire”

Leonard Cohen | 1969

While living on the Greek island of Hydra, Cohen was battling a lingering depression when his girlfriend handed him a guitar and suggested he play something. After spotting a bird on a telephone wire, Cohen wrote this prayer-like song of guilt. First recorded by Judy Collins, it would be performed numerous times by artists incuding Johnny Cash, Joe Cocker and Rita Coolidge. "I'm always knocked out when I hear my songs covered or used in some situation," Cohen told Rolling Stone. "I've never gotten over the fact that people out there like my music."

More Song Stories entries »