Bruce and E Street Rise Again

First album in more than fifteen years due in July

June 3, 2002 12:00 AM ET

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band will release The Rising on July 30th on Columbia Records, his label for the past three decades. The album will be the first recording of all-new material recorded by Springsteen and his longtime crew since 1984's Born in the U.S.A., and the first set of new Springsteen songs since The Ghost of Tom Joad in 1995.

The album was recorded earlier this year at Southern Tracks Recording studio in Atlanta, with Brendan O'Brien (Pearl Jam) producing. The fourteen tracks represent the first new recordings by Springsteen and the E Street Band -- keyboardist Roy Bittan, saxophonist Clarence Clemons, keyboardist Danny Federici, guitarist Nils Lofgren, singer Patti Scialfa, bassist Garry Tallent, guitarist Steven Van Zandt and drummer Max Weinberg -- to surface since four were included on the 1995 compilation, Greatest Hits. Among the songs included is "My City of Ruins," the song Springsteen debuted at the America: A Tribute to Heroes telethon last September.

After releasing Born in the U.S.A. (his best-selling record to date at fifteen times platinum), Springsteen put the band on hold and began to release albums under his name alone. Various E Street Band members made appearances on 1988's Tunnel of Love, 1992's Human Touch and Lucky Town, and The Ghost of Tom Joad, but the band wasn't fully reunited until the summer of 1999, when Springsteen and the E Street Band joined for a summer tour that began with a five-night stand in New Jersey. Last year, the group released Live in New York City, a two-CD recording from a series of shows at Madison Square Garden.

The Rising track listing:

Lonesome Day
Into the Fire
Waitin' on a Sunny Day
Nothing Man
Countin' on a Miracle
Empty Sky
Worlds Apart
Let's Be Friends
Further On (Up the Road)
The Fuse
Mary's Place
You're Missing
The Rising
My City of Ruins

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“American Girl”

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers | 1976

It turns out that a single with "American" in its title--recorded on the Fourth of July during the nation's Bicentennial, no less--can actually sell better in Britain. Coupled with the Heartbreakers' flair for Byrds jangle and Animals hooks, though, is Tom Petty's native-Florida drawl that keeps this classic grounded at home. Petty dispelled rumors that the song was about a suicidal student, explaining that the inspiration came from when he was 25 and used to salute the highway traffic outside his apartment window. "It sounded like the ocean to me," he recalled. "That was my ocean. My Malibu. Where I heard the waves crash, but it was just the cars going by."

More Song Stories entries »