Bob Seger Releasing Career-Spanning Two-CD Set

In April, Seger said the idea of a two-disc set 'doesn't seem right to me'

October 20, 2011 11:10 AM ET
Bob Seger
Bob Seger
Patti Ouderkirk/WireImage

Bob Seger is releasing his first-ever two CD career retrospective disc on on November 21st. Entitled Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets, the twenty-six track collection is a mix of hits ("Old Time Rock And Roll," "We've Got Tonight"),  fan favorites ("Travelin' Man," "Beautiful Loser") and recent work  ("Wait For Me," "Downtown Train"). The album will be available for download on iTunes and Amazon.com, marking the first time that many of his biggest hits will be officially available online. 

Unlike virtually all of his peers, Seger has released very few hits albums. In 1994 he released Greatest Hits and in 2003 he released Greatest Hits 2. He has no box set, and many of his early albums aren't even in print.  When we spoke with Seger in April, he said that he was against the idea of a two-CD hits set. "For this tour, [my label] called up a lot around Christmas and New Years and said, 'You can't just put the two greatest hits together as a reissue?'" Seger said. "I said, 'You know, that's just cheesy. Here's another greatest hits, here's another free lunch for me.' They're out there, people can buy them, and if you can buy anything, those are the ones you can buy, Greatest Hits 1 and 2, so I don't see a reason to . . . it doesn't seem right to me."

Seger's 2006 LP Face The Promise is only new album to hit shelves in the past 16 years, but he has been working on new material over the past year. "I'd say the next album is half done," Seger told Rolling Stone in April. "If the songwriting gods smile on me, it will be all new material. If they don't, it will be a mixture of what I've got now and and the best of the old [unreleased tracks.] It'll put out whatever the best songs are, new or old."

It's unclear what the status of the next album is, but Seger and the Silver Bullet Band are resuming their American tour November 2nd at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, Michigan. The tour runs 23 dates, wrapping up December 30th in Las Vegas. 

Here's the complete track listing for Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets


1.    Old Time Rock And Roll

2.    Hollywood Nights

3.    Night Moves

4.    Mainstreet

5.    Roll Me Away

6.    Turn The Page

7.    Her Strut

8.    Still The Same

9.    You’ll Accomp’ny Me

10.  We’ve Got Tonight

11.  Like A Rock

12.  Fire Lake

13.  Tryin’ To Live My Life Without You


1.    Rock And Roll Never Forgets

2.    Against The Wind

3.    Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man

4.    The Fire Down Below

5.    Travelin’ Man (Live)

6.    Beautiful Loser (Live)

7.    Shakedown

8.    Shame On The Moon

9.    Katmandu

10.  Little Drummer Boy

11.  Wait For Me

12.  Hey Hey Hey Hey (Going Back To Birmingham)

13.  Downtown Train

Bob Seger: 'My Career Is Winding Down. I Can't Do This Much Longer'

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Santa Monica”

Everclear | 1996

After his brother and girlfriend both died of drug overdoses, Art Alexakis -- depressed and hooked on drugs himself -- jumped off the Santa Monica Pier in California, determined to die. "It was really stupid," said the Everclear frontman, who would further explore his personal emotional journey in the song "Father of Mine." "I went under the water. Then I said, 'I don't wanna die.'" The song, declaring "Let's swim out past the breakers/and watch the world die," was intended as a manifesto for change, Alexakis said. "Let the world do what it's gonna do and just live on our own."

More Song Stories entries »