Beastie Boys' "Hot Sauce Committee Part 1 " Out Sept. 15th

June 23, 2009 12:11 PM ET

The Beastie Boys announced today that their new album The Hot Sauce Committee Part I will be released on September 15th. The album features guests Santigold and Nas, who recently joined the Beasties at Bonnaroo to debut their Hot Sauce collaboration "Too Many Rappers" onstage. Additionally, a pair of the tracks — "Lee Majors Comes Again" and "B-Boys in the Cuts" — were sneakily sent out to fans who ordered the Check Your Head reissue earlier this year. (Check out the Smoking Section's chat with Mike D, MCA and Ad-Rock at Bonnaroo, in which they tackle people with big heads, boats and Waffle House.)

Hot Sauce is the Beasties' first album since 2007's instrumental The Mix-Up, and the first to feature the Boys rapping since 2004's To the 5 Boroughs. Considering that this is Hot Sauce Committee Part 1, it seems inevitable that a Part 2 is in the works, but we don't want to get ahead of ourselves. Instead, we'll focus on August 25th, when the Beastie Boys will complete their series of reissues by releasing 1998's Hello Nasty as a two-CD or vinyl box set. The band previously announced that 1994's Ill Communication would be rereleased on July 14th.

As Rock Daily reported in February, the Beasties were finishing up work on an album they said featured "a lot of rhyming and playing and sampling — all combined." Since then, the trio has booked dates at festivals including Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza, All Points West and Austin City Limits as we inch closer to September 15th.

The Hot Sauce Committee Part 1:
1. "Tadlock's Glasses"
2. "B-Boys in the Cut"
3. "Make Some Noise"
4. "Nonstop Disco Powerpack"
5. "OK"
6. "Too Many Rappers [ft. Nas]"
7. "Say It"
8. "The Bill Harper Collection"
9. "Don't Play No Game That I Can't Win [ft. Santigold]"
10. "Long Burn the Fire"
11. "Bundt Cake"
12. "Funky Donkey"
13. "Lee Majors Come Again"
14. "Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament"
15. "Pop Your Balloon"
16. "Crazy Ass Shit"
17. "Here's a Little Something for Ya"

To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“I Was Made to Love Her”

Stevie Wonder | 1967

Stevie Wonder discovered true love while still a teenager, writing this ode to young love when he was only 17. The song, Wonder explained, "kind of speaks of my first love, to a girl named Angie, who was a very beautiful woman. She's married now. Actually, she was my third girlfriend but my first love. I used to call Angie up and we would talk and say, 'I love you, I love you,' and we'd talk and we'd both go to sleep on the phone.” The Beach Boys, Chaka Khan, Whitney Houston and Boyz II Men have all recorded versions of "I Was Made to Love Her."

More Song Stories entries »