Against Me!'s 'Transgender Dysphoria Blues' Gets a Release Date

The punk band's sixth album is due out this January

October 24, 2013 10:55 AM ET
Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! performs in Austin, Texas.
Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! performs in Austin, Texas.
Gary Miller/FilmMagic

Punk rockers Against Me! will release their sixth album, Transgender Dysphoria Blues, on January 21. It will be the first record the group has released since frontwoman Laura Jane Grace told Rolling Stone that she was transitioning her gender to a woman in May 2012. Accordingly, the album's lyrical content will deal intimately with transgender dysphoria, a clinical term for feeling discontent with one's sex, as well as the loss of a friend, self-discovery, love and acceptance.

The Secret Life of Transgender Rocker Tom Gabel

In addition to Grace's confessional lyrics, the record will feature a guest appearance by NOFX frontman Fat Mike, who plays bass on the songs "Unconditional Love" and "FUCKMYLIFE666." The group recorded the album at Dave Grohl's Studio 606, their own Total Treble Studio and a few other locations with engineer Billy Bush (Garbage, Muse).

In May of this year, the band's longtime bassist, Andrew Seward quit the group amicably. At that point, the only original members were Grace and guitarist James Bowman. "If I didn't feel like I had something that I really needed to say with the album we've been working on for the past year, then I'd humbly hang the hat and move on," Grace commented at the time. She also called him the "definition of a good friend." This past July, the group gave away an EP titled True Trans, which contained the Transgender Dysphoria Blues tracks "FUCKMYLIFE666" and "True Trans Soul Rebel." That same month, Grace embarked on a solo tour.

Against Me! Singer Laura Jane Grace Talks About Her First Year as a Woman

The band, which has since signed on bassist Inge Johansson, formerly of the (International) Noise Conspiracy, and drummer Atom Willard (Rocket From the Crypt, the Offspring), will embark on a full North American tour in 2014.

Transgender Dysphoria Blues Track List:

"Transgender Dysphoria Blues"
"True Trans Soul Rebel"
"Unconditional Love"
"Drinking With the Jocks"
"Osama Bin Laden as the Crucified Christ"
"Dead Friend"
"Two Coffins"
"Paralytic States"
"Black Me Out"


To read the new issue of Rolling Stone online, plus the entire RS archive: Click Here

Music Main Next

blog comments powered by Disqus
Around the Web
Powered By ZergNet
Daily Newsletter

Get the latest RS news in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the Rolling Stone newsletter and special offers from RS and its
marketing partners.


We may use your e-mail address to send you the newsletter and offers that may interest you, on behalf of Rolling Stone and its partners. For more information please read our Privacy Policy.

Song Stories

“Wake Up Everybody”

John Legend and the Roots | 2010

A Number One record by Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes in 1976 (a McFadden- and Whitehead-penned classic sung by Teddy Pendergrass) inspired the title and lead single from Wake Up!, John Legend's tribute album to message music. The more familiar strains of "Wake Up Everybody" also fit his agenda. "It basically sums up, in a very concise way, all the things we were thinking about when we were putting this record together in that it's about justice, doing the right thing and coming together to make the world a better place," he said. Vocalists Common and Melanie Fiona assist Legend on this mission to connect.

More Song Stories entries »